Union Cabinet Gives Approval To 6 New IITs

The Union Cabinet has given its approval to amend The Institutes of Technology (IIT) Act, 1961 for incorporation of 6 new IITs. This amendment will declare these 6 IITs as the institutions of national importance.

Six new IITs will come up at : 
1. Jammu (Jammu and Kashmir) 2. Palakkad (Kerala) 3. Dharwar (Karnataka) 4. Bhilai (Chhattisgarh) 5. Goa 6.  Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh)

Besides, Union Cabinet also gave its approval to convert of Indian School of Mines (ISM), Dhanbad into an IIT under the ambit of the IIT Act, 1961. However, the Cabinet has also given its ex-post facto approval to set up the National Institutes of Technology (NIT) in Andhra Pradesh which has been registered as a Society under the Andhra Pradesh Societies Registration Act, 2001.

So let’s do:
1. Recently, Union Cabinet has given approval for how many IITs ?

Source – The Economics Times


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *