Current Affairs   »   United Nation General Assembly Elects 14...

United Nation General Assembly Elects 14 Member States to Human Rights Council

United Nation General Assembly Elects 14 Member States to Human Rights Council_50.1

The United Nation General Assembly has elected 14 States to the 47 member body of UN Human Rights Council(UNHRC). The UNHRC is responsible for promoting and protecting all human rights around the globe. The Assembly elected Armenia, Brazil, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Libya, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Namibia, Netherlands, Poland, Republic of Korea, Sudan and Venezuela. All 14 members will serve three-year terms beginning on 1 January 2020.

The newly-elected States are replacing the following outgoing members: China, Croatia, Cuba, Egypt, Hungary, Iceland, Iraq, Japan, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Tunisia and the United Kingdom.

The 14 new members were elected according to the following pattern: 4 seats for the African States; 4 seats for the Asia-Pacific States; 2 seats for the Eastern European States; 2 seats for Latin American and Caribbean States; and 2 seats for Western European and other States.

Static/Current Takeaways Important For RRB NTPC/IBPS RRB (Clerk) Mains:

  • President of UNHRC: Coly Seck; Formation: 15 March 2006.
  • Headquarters: Geneva, Switzerland.

Source: The United Nations

Find More International News Here

हिंदी में पढ़ें

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *