Virat Kohli nominated for Khel Ratna and Ajinkya Rahane for Arjuna Award

BCCI has nominated Indian Test captain Virat Kohli for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and his teammate Ajinkya Rahane for Arjuna AwardThese nominations by BCCI have come after a gap of four years. 

Their names will be sent to the awards selection committee. If Kohli is awarded the prestigious honour, he will become the third cricketer after Sachin Tendulkar (1997-98) and MS Dhoni (2007-08) to be bestowed with the honour.

Rahane, India’s new Mr. Consistent, has been India’s best overseas batsman in recent times and capped off a wonderful 2015 with hundreds in both innings in the fourth Test against South Africa, in Delhi.

Other sports bodies and associations are also in the process of sending their nominations. Sports persons nominated for the Khel Ratna Award so far are Incheon Asian Games gold medallist shooter Jitu Rai, squash star Dipika Pallikal, athlete Tintu Luka and ace golfer Anirban Lahiri

For Arjuna Awards, Athletes Lalita Babar and OP Jaisha, shooters PN Prakash and Apurvi Chandela, and archer Laxmirani Majhi have been nominated. 

The Khel Ratna award carries a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh along with a citation while the Arjuna Award will carries a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and a citation.

So let’s discuss some questions related to this post : 
1. Name the player who has been nominated for the Khel Ratna award by BCCI ?
2. Who has been nominated for the the Arjuna award ?

Courtesy : DD news 

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *