Wimbledon 2016

Wimbledon Championships is the oldest tennis tournament in the world, this tennis tournament was held from 27 June to 10 July 2016. The tournament had taken place at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in Wimbledon, London, United Kingdom. It was the 130th edition of the championships and the 49th edition in the Open Era.

Wimbledon Championships 2016 winners are:

1. Men’s Singles Title

Britain’s Andy Murray defeats Milos Raonic of Canada in straight sets in Wimbledon final to win his second championship. In final match Andy Murray defeated Milos Raonic by 6–4, 7–6(7–3), 7–6(7–2) score.

2. Women’s Singles Title

American Serena Williams, who won her seventh Wimbledon singles  crown, and equalled   the   professional  era record of 22 grand   slam titles,   with a 7-5 6-3  victory over Germany’s Angelique Kerber.

3. Men’s Doubles Title

French professional tennis players, Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut won the 2016 Wimbledon title in the men’s doubles category. In the final match they defeated French pair Julien Benneteau and Édouard Roger-Vasselin by 6–4, 7–6(7–1), 6–3 score.

4. Women’s Doubles 

Women’s Doubles US pair of Serena Williams and Venus Williams won the 2016 Wimbledon title in the women’s doubles category. They defeated Tímea Babos (Hungary) and Yaroslava Shvedova (Kazakhstan) pair by 6–3, 6–4 score.

5. Mixed Doubles Title

Heather Watson and Henri Kontinen won the mixed doubles as Watson became the fourth British player to secure a title on Wimbledon. They defeated Robert Farah (Colombia) and Anna-Lena Grönefeld (Germany) pair by 7–6(7–5), 6–4 score.

Source – The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *