Yves Meyer wins the 2017 Abel Prize

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has awarded the Abel Prize for 2017 to mathematician Yves Meyer.

He was awarded for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets. The theory of wavelets that he started and made fundamental contributions to finds wide-ranging applications from image processing to fluid dynamics.

Takeaways from above News-
  • Abel Prize for 2017 awarded to mathematician Yves Meyer
  • The Abel Prize is a Norwegian prize awarded annually by the Government of Norway to the outstanding mathematicians.

If you have any other takeaways, do share with us in the comment section
Source- The Hindu

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *