Categories: Current AffairsSports

Purple Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024, Updated List

In addition to the coveted IPL Orange Cap awarded to the top run-scorer, the Purple Cap stands as one of the premier individual accolades in the Indian Premier League (IPL). This distinguished award is given to the bowler who ends each season with the most wickets.

IPL 2024 Purple Cap Standings Updated Today

With 22 wickets, Punjab Kings’ Harshal Patel currently leads the race for the IPL 2024 Purple Cap.

Rank Player Team Wickets Matches Economy
1 Harshal Patel PBKS 24 14 9.73
2 Jasprit Bumrah MI 20 13 6.48
3 Varun Chakaravarthy KKR 20 14 8.18
4 Arshdeep Singh PBKS 19 14 10.03
5 T Natarajan SRH 18 12 9.12
6 Yuzvendra Chahal RR 18 14 9.48
7 Tushar Deshpande CSK 17 13 8.83
8 Harshit Rana KKR 17 12 9.40
9 Khaleel Ahmed DC 17 14 9.58
10 Mukesh Kumar DC 17 10 10.36

IPL Purple Cap Winners List (2008-2024)

The IPL Purple Cap is awarded to the leading wicket-taker in each IPL season. The 2023 season saw Mohammed Shami of Gujarat Titans top the wicket-taking charts, and the 2024 winner is yet to be determined.

Season Player Matches Wickets
2008 Sohail Tanvir (RR) 11 22
2009 RP Singh (DC) 16 23
2010 Pragyan Ojha (DC) 16 21
2011 Lasith Malinga (MI) 16 28
2012 Morne Morkel (DD) 16 25
2013 Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 18 32
2014 Mohit Sharma (CSK) 16 23
2015 Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 16 26
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) 17 23
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) 14 26
2018 Andrew Tye (KXIP) 14 24
2019 Imran Tahir (CSK) 17 26
2020 Kagiso Rabada (DC) 17 30
2021 Harshal Patel (RCB) 15 32
2022 Yuzvendra Chahal (RR) 17 27
2023 Mohammed Shami (GT) 17 28
2024 Harshal Patel 14 24

IPL 2024 Purple Cap Standings Updated Today

With 22 wickets, Punjab Kings’ Harshal Patel currently leads the race for the IPL 2024 Purple Cap.

The Inaugural Winner: Sohail Tanvir

In the very first season of the IPL in 2008, Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir, playing for Rajasthan Royals, won the inaugural Purple Cap. He took an impressive 22 wickets in just 11 matches, helping the Royals become the first-ever IPL champions. Tanvir’s best bowling figures of 6/14 against Chennai Super Kings remained the best in the IPL for over a decade.

The Sri Lankan Legend: Lasith Malinga

The renowned Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga added his name to the list of Purple Cap winners in 2011, picking up 28 wickets from 16 games. This was the best individual haul in a single IPL season at the time.

Celebrating the Finest Bowlers

The IPL Purple Cap has become a symbol of excellence for the tournament’s top bowlers. From the Pakistani speedster Sohail Tanvir to the legendary Lasith Malinga, and from the all-rounder Dwayne Bravo to the Indian pace spearhead Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the winners of this coveted award have etched their names in the annals of IPL history.

As the IPL continues to captivate audiences worldwide, the Purple Cap will undoubtedly remain one of the most prestigious individual honors, recognizing the finest bowlers who have showcased their exceptional skills and talent on the biggest T20 stage.

Sumit Arora

Recent Posts

APIX and RBI Join Forces for HaRBInger 2024 Hackathon

APIX, the leading global collaborative innovation platform for financial institutions and fintechs across over 90…

15 hours ago

Most Strawberry Exporting Country in the World

Strawberries, with their bright red color and sweet taste, are a favorite fruit worldwide. When…

15 hours ago

India, Sri Lanka Commission Maritime Rescue Centre to Boost Security Ties

India and Sri Lanka June 20, commissioned an initiative key to maritime security cooperation between the…

15 hours ago

Largest Jackfruit Producing State in India

Odisha, a state located on the eastern coast of India, has emerged as the largest…

16 hours ago

The Hunger Games’ Actor Donald Sutherland Dies at 88

The Canadian actor Donald Sutherland, star of films including The Hunger Games and Don't Look…

16 hours ago

List of Firsts in India – Science & Technology, Governance, Politics, Defence, Sports, and Awards

List of First in India India has a rich history of pioneering achievements across various…

17 hours ago