Home   »   IPL Purple Cap Winners List

Purple Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024, Updated List

Alongside the prestigious IPL Orange Cap for the leading run-scorer, the Purple Cap is one of the top individual honors in the Indian Premier League (IPL). This esteemed award is presented to the bowler who finishes each season as the highest wicket-taker.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List (2008-2024)

The IPL Purple Cap is awarded to the leading wicket-taker in each IPL season. The 2023 season saw Mohammed Shami of Gujarat Titans top the wicket-taking charts, and the 2024 winner is yet to be determined.

Season Player Matches Wickets
2008 Sohail Tanvir (RR) 11 22
2009 RP Singh (DC) 16 23
2010 Pragyan Ojha (DC) 16 21
2011 Lasith Malinga (MI) 16 28
2012 Morne Morkel (DD) 16 25
2013 Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 18 32
2014 Mohit Sharma (CSK) 16 23
2015 Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 16 26
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) 17 23
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) 14 26
2018 Andrew Tye (KXIP) 14 24
2019 Imran Tahir (CSK) 17 26
2020 Kagiso Rabada (DC) 17 30
2021 Harshal Patel (RCB) 15 32
2022 Yuzvendra Chahal (RR) 17 27
2023 Mohammed Shami (GT) 17 28
2024 Not Declared Not Declared Not Declared

IPL 2024 Purple Cap Standings Updated Today

The race for the IPL 2024 Purple Cap is heating up, with veteran spinner Yuzvendra Chahal currently leading the pack with 12 wickets.

Rank Player Wickets Matches Best Figures
1 Yuzvendra Chahal 12 7 3/11
2 Jasprit Bumrah 10 5 5/21
3 Mustafizur Rahman 10 5 4/29
4 Pat Cummins 9 6 3/43
5 Kagiso Rabada 9 6 2/23
6 Khaleel Ahmed 9 6 2/21
7 Arshdeep Singh 9 6 4/29
8 Gerald Coetzee 8 5 4/34
9 Matheesha Pathirana 8 3 4/28
10 Sam Curran 8 6 3/28

The Inaugural Winner: Sohail Tanvir

In the very first season of the IPL in 2008, Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir, playing for Rajasthan Royals, won the inaugural Purple Cap. He took an impressive 22 wickets in just 11 matches, helping the Royals become the first-ever IPL champions. Tanvir’s best bowling figures of 6/14 against Chennai Super Kings remained the best in the IPL for over a decade.

The Sri Lankan Legend: Lasith Malinga

The renowned Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga added his name to the list of Purple Cap winners in 2011, picking up 28 wickets from 16 games. This was the best individual haul in a single IPL season at the time.

Celebrating the Finest Bowlers

The IPL Purple Cap has become a symbol of excellence for the tournament’s top bowlers. From the Pakistani speedster Sohail Tanvir to the legendary Lasith Malinga, and from the all-rounder Dwayne Bravo to the Indian pace spearhead Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the winners of this coveted award have etched their names in the annals of IPL history.

As the IPL continues to captivate audiences worldwide, the Purple Cap will undoubtedly remain one of the most prestigious individual honors, recognizing the finest bowlers who have showcased their exceptional skills and talent on the biggest T20 stage.

PolicyBazaar Establishes Wholly Owned Subsidiary 'PB Pay Private Limited': Expansion into Payment Aggregation Services_80.1