Categories: International

US recognized McMahon Line as international border

A bipartisan resolution was passed by the US, formally recognizing the McMahon Line as the international boundary between China and India’s Arunachal Pradesh. The resolution rejected China’s claim that the state belongs to its territory and instead acknowledged Arunachal Pradesh as an integral part of India. Furthermore, the resolution expressed support for India’s sovereignty and territorial integrity.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

What is the US Resolution:

The resolution, titled ‘Reaffirmation of Arunachal Pradesh as Indian territory and condemnation of China’s provocative activities in South Asia’, came after a major clash between the Indian and Chinese forces in Arunachal’s Tawang in December last year.

More About the US Resolution:

Apart from recognising the McMahon Line, the resolution also condemned Chinese provocations in the region, including China’s use of military force to change the status quo along the Line of Actual Control, construction of villages in contested areas, publication of maps with Mandarin-language names for cities featuring Arunachal Pradesh, and expansion of Beijing’s territorial claims over Bhutan.

What is the McMahon Line?

  • The McMahon Line serves as the de facto boundary between China and India in the Eastern Sector. It specifically represents the boundary between Arunachal Pradesh and Tibet, from Bhutan in the west to Myanmar in the east.
  • China has historically disputed the boundary and claims the state of Arunachal Pradesh as part of the Tibetan Autonomous Region (TAR).

Current status on the McMahon Line:

  • India recognizes the McMahon Line and considers it to be the ‘Actual Line of Control (LAC)’ between India and China, while China does not recognize the McMahon Line. China says that the area of the disputed area is 2,000 kilometers while India claims it is 4,000 kilometers.
  • This land dispute between India and China is in Tawang (Arunachal Pradesh), which China considers as the Southern part of Tibet. According to the Shimla Agreement it is a part of the Indian state Arunachal Pradesh.



Recent Posts

Nobel Prize Winners in 2023 List, Name and Fields

Introduction The Nobel Prize winners in 2023 represent a diverse range of fields and disciplines,…

5 mins ago

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2023 awarded to Moungi G. Bawendi, Louis E. Brus and Alexei I. Ekimov

Moungi G. Bawendi, Louis E. Brus and Alexei I. Ekimov “for the discovery and synthesis…

35 mins ago

Asian Games 2023, Overall Medal Tally 04th OCT

The Asian Games medal tally 2023 is a table that shows the number of medals…

39 mins ago

Breast Cancer Awareness Month 2023

When is Breast Cancer Awareness Month 2023? Breast Cancer Awareness Month is observed throughout the…

57 mins ago

India Participates in the 5th Meeting of Moscow Format

5th Meeting of the Moscow Format In a significant diplomatic gathering held in the Russian…

1 hour ago

J&K Lt Governor Flags Off CRPF Women Bike Expedition ‘Yashasvini’ From Srinagar

  In a groundbreaking initiative to empower women, the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) kick-started…

2 hours ago