Home   »   General Studies   »   City of Prime Ministers

City of Prime Ministers in India

Prayagraj, formerly known as Allahabad, is renowned as the “City of Prime Ministers” in India. This city holds significant historical importance and is the confluence of the Ganga and Yamuna rivers, known as the Sangam. It is a major religious hub, attracting numerous Hindu pilgrims who seek to be near the sacred rivers, although the mythical Saraswati River is less prominent today.

Significance of City of Prime Ministers, Prayagraaj

Prayagraaj’s significance as the “City of Prime Ministers” is intertwined with India’s political heritage. Out of the 15 Prime Ministers who have governed India since its independence in 1947, an impressive seven have notable ties to this city. This remarkable connection has solidified Prayagraaj’s status as the “City of Prime Ministers.”

City of Prime Ministers in India

Prayagraaj is often referred to as the “City of Prime Ministers” due to its unique historical connection to Indian politics. This city has produced or had strong ties with seven out of 15 Prime Ministers who have led India since its independence in 1947. Let’s know about those seven Prime Ministers who hailed from Prayagraaj:

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, India’s first Prime Minister, was born in Prayagraaj in 1889. He played a pivotal role in India’s struggle for independence and was a key figure in shaping the nation’s early post-independence years. Nehru was elected as a Member of Parliament multiple times from the Phulpur constituency in Prayagraaj.

Lal Bahadur Shastri

Lal Bahadur Shastri, known for his simplicity and leadership during critical times, served as India’s second Prime Minister. Shastri won Lok Sabha election from Prayagraaj in 1957 and 1962. He coined the famous slogan “Jai Jawan, Jai Kisan” during his tenure.

Indria Gandhi

Indira Gandhi, India’s first female Prime Minister, had strong ties to Prayagraaj. Her marriage to Feroze Gandhi took place at the Anand Bhavan in Prayagraaj , which was her ancestral home.

Rajiv Gandhi

Rajiv Gandhi, one of the youngest Prime Ministers of India, was born in Mumbai but had familial connections to Prayagraaj. His family’s roots and Nanihal (maternal grandparents’ home) were in Prayagraaj.

Gulzarilal Nanda

Gulzarilal Nanda served as the acting Prime Minister of India twice. He was a prominent political figure with roots in Prayagraaj and was known for his contributions to addressing labor issues.

Vishwanath Pratap Singh

Vishwanath Pratap Singh, India’s eighth Prime Minister, was born in Prayagraaj. He was a student leader and played a significant role in addressing student-related issues during his college years.

Chandra Shekhar

Chandra Shekhar, who briefly served as the Prime Minister of India, studied at Allahabad University in Prayagraaj and was actively involved in student politics during his college days.


Which city is known as "City of Prime Minister"?

Prayagraaj is often referred to as the “City of Prime Ministers” due to its unique historical connection to Indian politics.

Name all the Prime Ministers hailed from Prayagraaj.

Prime Ministers hailed or associated with Prayagraaj: Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, Gulzarilal Nanda, Vishwanath Pratap Singh and Chandra Shekhar.

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.