Home   »   General Studies   »   Constitutional and Political Seats of Uttar...

How Many Seats are there in Each House of Uttar Pradesh’s Legislature?

Uttar Pradesh, often referred to as the stronghold of central politics, holds a significant position in the political arena of North India. Known for its political, social, and economic importance, this state plays a crucial role in the Indian democratic system. In this article, we will explore the number of seats in various legislative bodies of Uttar Pradesh.

Importance of Uttar Pradesh in Indian Politics

Uttar Pradesh is not just any other state in India; it is often said that the road to the central government runs through this state. The state’s influence in national politics is profound, with its large number of parliamentary seats playing a decisive role in the formation of the central government.

Districts and Divisions of Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh is divided into 75 districts and 18 divisions. Additionally, it is categorized into four regions: Purvanchal, Bundelkhand, Western Uttar Pradesh, and Central Uttar Pradesh. Some references also include Rohilkhand.

  • Largest District: Lakhimpur Kheri (7,680 sq km)
  • Smallest District: Hapur (660 sq km)
  • Geographical Extremes:
  • Easternmost: Ballia
  • Westernmost: Shamli
  • Northernmost: Saharanpur
  • Southernmost: Sonbhadra

Lok Sabha Seats in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh holds the highest number of Lok Sabha seats in India, with a total of 80 seats. These seats are critical as they allow the state to have a substantial influence on national legislation and policies.

Rajya Sabha Seats in Uttar Pradesh

In the Rajya Sabha, Uttar Pradesh is represented by 31 seats. This makes it a significant player in the upper house of India’s bicameral legislature, contributing to the formation and passage of laws.

Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Seats

The Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly comprises a total of 404 seats. Out of these, 403 are elected seats, and one is nominated. The large number of assembly seats reflects the state’s vast and diverse population, allowing for broad representation.

Legislative Council (Vidhan Parishad) Seats

Uttar Pradesh is one of the few states in India with a bicameral legislature, which includes the Legislative Council. The state has 100 Legislative Council seats, providing an additional layer of legislative oversight and review.

How Many Seats are there in Each House of Uttar Pradesh's Legislature?_4.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.