Current Affairs   »   Sports Current Affairs 2023   »   Cricket World Cup Winners list

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List (1975 to 2023)

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List

Here is a compilation of the champions of the ODI Cricket World Cup or the ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List. The tournament was initially introduced in England in 1975 and involved a set of one-day matches where each side played for 60 overs. In 1987, it was hosted in India and Pakistan, marking the first time it was held outside of England. Additionally, the number of overs played per side was shortened to 50 in the 1987 tournament.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023

Australia achieved a remarkable feat in 2007 by becoming the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments out of the twelve held till date. With five victories in total, Australia is the most successful country in the history of the tournament. India and West Indies are the only other countries to have won the World Cup more than once, with two victories each. India emerged as winners in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies claimed victory in 1975 and 1979. The most recent World Cup, held in 2019, was won by England. The following is a list of all the One Day Cricket World Cup winners.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List (1975 – 2023)

Below is the ODI Cricket World Cup Winners list from the year 1975, the year of first World Cup to 2023:

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List

Year Host Winner Runner-up Result
1975 England West Indies Australia West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 England West Indies England West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 England India West Indies India won by 43 runs
1987 India and Pakistan Australia England Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan England Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Pakistan and India Sri Lanka Australia Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 England Australia Pakistan Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 South Africa Australia India Australia won by 125 runs
2007 West Indies Australia Sri Lanka Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India and Bangladesh India Sri Lanka India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia New Zealand Australia won by 7 wickets
2019 England and Wales England New Zealand Match tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count
2023 India

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List: Number of World Cup for Countries

Australia holds the record for being the most successful team in the ICC ODI World Cup, having won the tournament 5 times and been the runner-up twice. India and West Indies have both won the World Cup title 2 times after Australia. The latest ICC ODI Men World Cup was held in England and Wales in 2019, and it marked the first time that England had won the tournament. Below is a breakdown of the countries that have won the ODI Cricket World Cup.

Below is the list of Number of World Cups Won by the countires:

Team Number of ODI World Cup Won Years of ODI World Cup Won
Australia 5 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
England 1 2019
India 2 1983, 2011
New Zealand 0
Pakistan 1 1992
Sri Lanka 1 1996
West Indies 2 1975, 1979

Also Read: ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule, Venue And Time Table

Find More Sports News Here

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List (1975 to 2023)_50.1

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List (1975 to 2023)_60.1

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.