Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   Cricketer Ajit Agarkar appointed chairman of...

Cricketer Ajit Agarkar appointed chairman of Senior Men’s Selection Committee

The Board of Control of Cricket (BCCI) has appointed Ajit Agarkar as the chairman of the Senior Men’s Cricket Selection Committee. The decision was made by the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), consisting of Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra, and Jatin Paranjape. After interviewing several applicants for the position the CAC unanimously decided to appoint Ajit Agarkar as the chairman.

Now committee consists

The Senior Men’s Selection Committee now consists of Ajit Agarkar (Chairperson), Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, and Sridharan Sharath. The appointment of Ajit Agarkar comes at a crucial juncture as Team India is recovering from the massive defeat in World Test Championship Finals and is preparing for the ICC World Cup 2023 in October-November.

The former India all-rounder represented the country in 26 Tests, 191 ODIs, and four T20Is, in addition to playing 110 first-class, 270 List A, and 62 T20 matches. As a former fast bowler, he was part of India’s victorious squad in the inaugural T20 World Cup held in South Africa in 2007.

Find More Sports News Here

Cricketer Ajit Agarkar appointed chairman of Senior Men's Selection Committee_4.1

132nd Durand Cup tournament to be organized in Kolkata_100.1