Home   »   Cummins Creates History With Second Consecutive...

Cummins Creates History With Second Consecutive T20 World Cup Hat-Trick

Pat Cummins made history on June 23, as he became first player to pick up 2 hat-tricks in T20 World Cups during the Super 8 clash between Australia and Afghanistan in St. Vincent. Cummins picked up the wickets of Rashid Khan, Karim Janat and Gulbadin Naib to achieve the feat.

About this second hat-trick

It was just the eighth time that a bowler has completed a hat-trick at a Men’s T20 World Cup and the first time a player has achieved the feat on multiple occasions.

  • Cummins is already a member of an illustrious group of seven players to have taken a hat-trick at a Men’s T20 World Cup, with Brett Lee (2007), Curtis Campher (2021), Wanindu Hasaranga (2021), Kagiso Rabada (2021), Karthik Meiyappan (2022) and Josh Little (2022) the other bowlers to have done so previously.
  • While Cummins admitted he did not know he had registered the hat-trick during the Bangladesh match, the Australia pacer revealed he was aware of what had occurred this time around.

List of the players who have taken hat-trick in T20 World Cup

Hat-tricks at Men’s T20 World Cups
Player Year and opposition
Pat Cummins (Australia) 2024 v Afghanistan
Pat Cummins (Australia) 2024 v Bangladesh
Josh Little (Ireland) 2022 v New Zealand
Karthik Meiyappan (UAE) 2022 v Sri Lanka
Kagiso Rabada (South Africa) 2021 v England
Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) 2021 v South Africa
Curtis Campher (Ireland) 2021 v Netherlands
Brett Lee (Australia) 2007 v Bangladesh


Cummins Creates History With Second Consecutive T20 World Cup Hat-Trick_4.1