Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   FIFA Women’s World Cup: Full list...

FIFA Women’s World Cup: Full list of past winners (1991-2023)

The upcoming summer will witness the start of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, commencing on Thursday, July 20. This tournament will be unique as it will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand, marking the first time two nations share the hosting duties. Additionally, this edition will have an expanded participation, with 32 teams competing instead of the previous 24. Throughout the history of the Women’s World Cup, the United States has showcased remarkable dominance, securing four championship titles in the first eight tournaments held in 1991, 1999, 2015, and 2019.

Past Women’s World Cup Winners by Year

Year Winner Runner-up Third Place
1991 United States Norway Sweden
1995 Norway Germany United States
1999 United States China Brazil
2003 Germany Sweden United States
2007 Germany Brazil United States
2011 Japan United States Sweden
2015 United States Japan England
2019 United States Netherlands Sweden


Year Golden Ball Winner Golden Boot Winner Golden Gloves Winner Best Young Player
2019 Megan Rapinoe (United States) Megan Rapinoe (United States) Sari Van Veenendaal (Netherlands) Giulia Gwinn (Germany)
2015 Carli Lloyd (United States) Celia Sasic (Germany) Hope Solo (United States) Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada)
2011 Homare Sawa (Japan) Homare Sawa (Japan) Hope Solo (United States) Caitlin Foord (Australia)
2007 Marta (Brazil) Marta (Brazil) Nadine Angerer (Germany) N/A
2003 Birgit Prinz Birgit Prinz Silke Rottenberg N/A
1999 Sun Wen Sissi Gao Hong N/A
1995 Hege Riise Ann Kristin Aarønes N/A N/A
1991 Carin Jennings Michelle Akers N/A N/A

Find More Sports News Here

FIFA Women's World Cup: Full list of past winners_4.1

Lallianzuala Chhangte wins AIFF Men's Footballer of the Year award for 2022-23_110.1