Home   »   General Studies   »   First General Election in India

First General Election in India (1951-52), Know the Date and Key Facts

India’s journey towards democracy is marked by a pivotal milestone — the First General Election held in 1951-1952. This monumental event not only shaped the course of Indian politics but also laid the foundation for the world’s largest democratic experiment. Let’s delve into the significance, challenges, and triumphs of India’s inaugural democratic exercise.

First General Election in India

India’s journey towards establishing itself as a sovereign, socialist, secular, and democratic republic reached a significant milestone with the commencement of the First General Election on October 25, 1951. After years of struggle for independence, the nation was now poised to embrace the principles of universal adult suffrage and conduct a massive electoral exercise.

First General Election in India (1951-1952) – Key Events

Formation of the First Lok Sabha: The inaugural Lok Sabha was elected during the first general elections, marking a crucial step in shaping the democratic landscape of independent India.

Transition from Interim Legislature: Since August 1947, India had been governed by an interim legislature known as the Indian Constituent Assembly. The First General Election paved the way for a more representative and permanent legislative body.

Universal Adult Suffrage: A groundbreaking aspect of the election was the implementation of universal adult suffrage, allowing every citizen over the age of 21 to exercise their right to vote, irrespective of caste, creed, religion, gender, or socio-economic status.

Scale and Participants: A total of 53 political parties contested for 489 seats, with 1874 candidates vying for victory. The election covered 401 constituencies, some of which had multiple seats. Notably, the multi-seat constituencies were eliminated in the 1960s.

Voter Turnout and Representation:Out of a population of 36 crores, approximately 17.32 crores were eligible to vote, resulting in a noteworthy 45% turnout. The Indian National Congress (INC) dominated the elections, winning 364 seats, securing nearly 45% of the votes. The Communist Party of India (CPI) came second with 16 seats.

Mock Election and Election Commissioner: To familiarize citizens with the election process, a mock election was conducted in September 1951. Sukumar Sen served as the first Election Commissioner of India, overseeing the fair and efficient conduct of the electoral process.

Prominent Winners and Losses: Key figures like Jawaharlal Nehru, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Sucheta Kripalani, Gulzari Lal Nanda, and Shyama Prasad Mukherjee emerged as prominent winners. However, B.R. Ambedkar faced defeat in the Bombay (North-Central) seat, losing to INC candidate Narayan Sadoba Kajrolkar.

Highlights of the Results of First General Election of India

The table below outlines the major parties, their respective votes, and the seats they secured:

Major Parties No. of Votes Seats Won
Indian National Congress 47,665,875 364
Communist Party of India 3,484,401 16
Bhartiya Jana Singh 3,246,288 3
Socialist Party 11,266,779 12
Kisan Mazdoor Praja Party 6,156,558 9
Independents 16,817,910 37

Noteworthy Facts and Figures of First Lok Sabha (1852-1957)

  • The first Lok Sabha, lasting from April 1952 to April 1957, had a record 677
  • V. Mavalankar served as the Speaker of the first Lok Sabha.
  • Ravi Narayana Reddy, representing the People’s Democratic Front, was the first person to enter Parliament, outvoting even Nehru in the first general elections.

GK Quiz on IPL (Indian Premier League) 2024_70.1


Who oversaw the fair conduct of the First General Election?

Sukumar Sen served as the first Election Commissioner of India, ensuring the fairness and efficiency of the electoral process.

Which party dominated the First General Election in terms of seats won?

The Indian National Congress (INC) emerged as the dominant party, securing 364 out of 489 seats in the First Lok Sabha.

How many sittings did the first Lok Sabha have?

The first Lok Sabha, from 1952 to 1957, had a record 677 sittings.

Who served as the Speaker of the first Lok Sabha?

G.V. Mavalankar served as the Speaker of the first Lok Sabha.

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.