Home   »   ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024,...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, 20 Teams Finalized

In a groundbreaking achievement, Uganda’s cricket team has earned its place in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, securing a top-two finish in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa qualifier. The team’s impressive performance, particularly the recent nine-wicket victory over Rwanda, marks their debut in a senior ICC World Cup event.

Historic Qualification for Uganda

Uganda’s journey to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is marked by a series of commendable victories, with their latest triumph over Rwanda solidifying their position in the prestigious tournament. Before the historic win, Uganda had notched up victories against Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Nigeria, and Kenya, showcasing their cricket prowess.

The top-two finish in the Africa qualifier cements Uganda’s place alongside Namibia as the representatives from the continent. Both teams will be part of the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, which boasts the participation of 20 teams for the first time in the history of the tournament.

Key Players Shine in Decisive Match

In the crucial match against Rwanda, Uganda’s bowlers delivered an outstanding performance, with Alpesh Ramjani, Brian Masaba, Henry Ssenyondo, and Dinesh Nakrani each securing two wickets. This collective effort restricted Rwanda to a total of 65 runs in 18.5 overs after being put in to bat.

Uganda’s batsmen then showcased their prowess by comfortably chasing down the target in just 8.1 overs, securing a nine-wicket victory with 71 balls to spare. Solid contributions from players like Simon Ssesazi, Ronak Patel, and Roger Mukasa played a pivotal role in this historic win.

The Road Ahead: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Uganda now joins a distinguished list of teams that have qualified for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The event, featuring 20 teams, will witness a format change with four groups of five teams each. The top two teams from each group will progress to the Super Eight phase, leading to the semi-finals and the ultimate showdown in the final.

Qualified Teams for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Australia
  3. Bangladesh
  4. Canada
  5. England
  6. India
  7. Ireland
  8. Namibia
  9. Nepal
  10. Netherlands
  11. New Zealand
  12. Oman
  13. Pakistan
  14. Papua New Guinea (PNG)
  15. Scotland
  16. South Africa
  17. Sri Lanka
  18. West Indies
  19. Uganda
  20. United States of America (USA)

Uganda’s remarkable journey to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is a testament to the team’s dedication and skill, marking a significant milestone in the nation’s cricket history. The cricketing world eagerly anticipates their debut in this prestigious tournament on the global stage.

Find More Sports News Here


Vaishali Rameshbabu Becomes Grandmaster, Creating History with Brother Praggnanandhaa_80.1