Home   »   General Studies   »   Largest District in Andhra Pradesh

Largest District in Andhra Pradesh, Know the Names of All Districts

Andhra Pradesh, known for its rich cultural heritage and diverse landscapes, is home to several significant districts, each contributing to the state’s vibrant tapestry. Among these, Prakasam district stands as the largest district in the coastal Andhra region of Andhra Pradesh, India. With a rich history, diverse culture, and significant geographical features, it holds a prominent place in the state’s landscape.

How many Districts are there in Andhra Pradesh?

Andhra Pradesh, situated in the southern part of India, boasts a vibrant culture, rich history, and stunning landscapes. The state comprises 26 administrative districts, each renowned for its distinct characteristics and offerings. These districts are hubs of religious significance, centers of learning, and thriving industrial zones. Known for its bountiful agricultural produce like mangoes and sugarcane, Andhra Pradesh’s districts contribute significantly to India’s social, economic, and political spheres, accommodating a population exceeding 50 million.

Largest District of Andhra Pradesh, Name

The largest district in Andhra Pradesh, Prakasam District, is named in honor of the distinguished freedom fighter and former Chief Minister of the composite Madras State and the inaugural Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh State, Sri Tanguturi “Prakasam Panthulu,” affectionately known as “Andhra Kesari.” He was born in Vinodarayunipalem, a small village situated within the Kanaparthi area of Naguluppala Padu Mandal in this district.

Key Facts Related to Largest District in Andhra Pradesh

Here are some key facts related to Prakasam, the largest district in Andhra Pradesh:

  • Formed in 1970 and reorganized on April 4, 2022.
  • Headquarters: Ongole.
  • Located on the western shore of the Bay of Bengal.
  • Bounded by Bapatla and Palnadu districts in the north, Nandyal district in the west, and Kadapa and Nellore districts in the south.
  • Also shares a border with Nagarkurnool district of Telangana in the northwest.
  • Area: 14,322 square kilometers.
  • Population (2011 Census): 2,288,026.
  • Named after Tanguturi Prakasam, the first Chief Minister of Andhra State.
  • Originally constituted by carving out parts of Guntur, Nellore, and Kurnool districts.
  • Moderate climate in coastal areas, hot climate in non-coastal areas.
  • Major rivers: Gundlakamma, Musi, Paleru.
  • Forest area: 30.86% of the total geographical area.
  • Major irrigation projects: Nagarjuna Sagar Project, Krishna Western Delta.
  • Rich in mineral resources like granite, slate, iron ore, quartz, and silica sand.
  • Political representation: Ongole and Bapatla Lok Sabha constituencies.
  • Three revenue divisions: Ongole, Kanigiri, and Markapur.
  • 38 mandals, with 715 Gram Panchayats and about 769 inhabited revenue villages.
  • Main cities and towns: Ongole, Markapuram, Kanigiri, Giddaluru, Darsi, Podili, Chimakurthy.
  • Well-connected by road (1,184 km of state highways) and rail (406 km).
  • Significant educational institutions include Rajeev Gandhi University of Knowledge Technologies and Andhra Kesari University.
  • Tourist attractions: Bhairavakona cave temples, Sri Bala Tripuranthakeswara and Sri Bala Tripurasundaridevi temples, Cumbum tank.
  • Notable personalities: Tanguturi Prakasam, Pullela Gopichand, Mokshagundam Viswesvarayya.

Most Populated District of Andhra Pradesh

Anantapur district stands as the most populated district in Andhra Pradesh, boasting an estimated population of 4,081,148. With its vast population, it plays a significant role in the socio-economic fabric of the state. Known for its rich cultural heritage and diverse demographics, Anantapur district encompasses a wide range of communities and industries, contributing substantially to the regional development and growth.

Districts of Andhra Pradesh, Name List

Here is the list of all 26 districts of Andhra Pradesh:

Districts of Andhra Pradesh
Anantapuram Chittoor
Tirupati Pavathipuram Manya
East Godavari Alluri Sitharama Raju
Guntur Anakapalli
Krishna Kakinda
Kurnool Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Konaseema
Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore Eluru
Prakasam NTR Vijaywada
Srikakulam Palnadu
Vishakhapatnam Bapatla
Vizianagaram Nandyal
West Godavari Annamaya
YSR Kadapa Sri Sathya Sai

Largest Company in India 2024, List of Top-10_100.1


How many districts are there in Andhra Pradesh?

Andhra Pradesh comprises a total of 26 administrative districts.

Which is the largest district in Andhra Pradesh by land area?

Prakasam District holds the distinction of being the largest district in Andhra Pradesh.

Which is the largest district in Andhra Pradesh by population?

Anantapur district boasts the highest population in Andhra Pradesh, with an estimated population of 4,081,148.

Who is Prakasam named after?

Prakasam District is named after Tanguturi Prakasam, the first Chief Minister of Andhra State, who was affectionately known as "Andhra Kesari."

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.