Home   »   General Studies   »   Former Governors of Nagaland

List of Former Governors of Nagaland (1963-2024)

Nagaland, the picturesque northeastern state of India, has had the privilege of being governed by a cadre of distinguished individuals who have left an indelible mark on its history and governance. The office of the Governor holds immense significance in the administrative structure of the state, serving as a bridge between the central government and the local administration. As we delve into the annals of Nagaland’s political landscape, let us take a closer look at the list of former governors who have graced this pivotal position.

Governors of Nagaland

In Nagaland, the Governor serves as the chief executive and represents the central government within the state. As per the Indian Constitution, the Governor holds the position of the foremost citizen of the state. Presently, La. Ganesan holds the office of Governor in Nagaland. The primary responsibility of the Governor is to facilitate the effective operation of state administration and to serve as a crucial liaison between the state and the central government. This compilation presents a roster of all individuals who have served as Governors of Nagaland since its establishment, including their names and respective tenures.

Inaugural Governor of Nagaland

Vishnu Sahay, a member of the Indian Civil Service, assumed the role of Nagaland State’s inaugural governor. He served from 1963 to 1968, overseeing the nascent state’s formative years with dedication and commitment. Sahay’s tenure marked a crucial period of establishment and development for Nagaland.

Current Governor of Nagaland

At present, La. Ganesan serves as the esteemed Governor of Nagaland, assuming office on February 15, 2023. With a wealth of experience and dedication, Ganesan fulfills his duties with diligence, ensuring the smooth functioning of the state’s administration. As the head representative of the central government, he plays a pivotal role in facilitating communication and collaboration between Nagaland and the union government.

List of Former Governors of Nagaland

The Governor serves as the chief executive and represents the central government within the state. Here is the complete list of former Governors of Nagaland:

Former Governors of Nagaland
S. No. Name From To
1. Vishnu Sahay 01 Dec 1963 16 Apr 1968
2. B. K. Nehru 17 Apr 1968 18 Sep 1973
3. L.P. Singh 19 Sep 1973 09 Aug 1981
4. S. M. H. Burney 10 Aug 1981 12 Jun 1984
5. Gen. K. V. Krishna Rao 13 Jun 1984 19 Jul 1989
6. Dr. Gopal Singh 20 Jul 1989 03 May 1990
7. Dr. M. M. Thomas 09 May 1990 12 Apr 1992
8. Loknath Mishra 13 Apr 1992 01 Oct 1993
9. Lt. Gen. V. K. Nayar 02 Oct 1993 04 Aug 1994
10. O. N. Shrivastava 05 Aug 1994 11 Nov 1996
11. Om Prakash Sharma 12 Nov 1996 27 Jan 2002
12. Shyamal Datta 28 Jan 2002 02 Feb 2007
13. K. Sankaranarayanan 03 Feb 2007 28 Jul 2009
14. Gurbachan Jagat 28 Jul 2009 14 Oct 2009
15. Nikhil Kumar 15 Oct 2009 20 Mar 2013
16. Ashwani Kumar 21 Mar 2013 27 Jun 2014
17. Krishan Kant Paul 02 Jul 2014 19 Jul 2014
18. Padmanabha Acharya 19 Jul 2014 31 Jul 2019
19. R. N. Ravi 01 Aug 2019 17 Sep 2021
20. Jagdish Mukhi 17 Sep 2021 13 Feb 2023
21. La. Ganesan 15 Feb 2023 Incumbent

Indian Navy at Exercise Cutlass Express 2024_80.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.