Home   »   General Studies   »   Former Governors of Sikkim

List of Former Governors of Sikkim (1974-2024)

Sikkim, nestled in the northeastern part of India, is renowned for its rich cultural heritage, breathtaking landscapes, and unique political history. A key figure in the governance structure of Sikkim has been the Governor, appointed as the representative of the President of India in the state. Over the years, several distinguished individuals have held this esteemed position, each contributing in their own way to the development and progress of the region. Let’s delve into the roster of former Governors who have left an indelible mark on Sikkim’s history.

Governors of Sikkim

The Governor, serving as the paramount representative of the central government, holds the highest office in a state, embodying the essence of its leadership. In Sikkim, the incumbent Governor, Lakshman Acharya, upholds this pivotal role, functioning as the state’s foremost citizen. Their primary duty entails overseeing the seamless operation of state affairs and facilitating effective communication between the state and the union government. This compilation presents a comprehensive roster of all past Governors of Sikkim, detailing their respective tenures and contributions to the state’s governance.

Inaugural Governor of Sikkim

B.B. Lal | Raj Bhavan Sikkim | India

Shri Bipen Behari Lal, an esteemed Indian civil servant, assumed the historic role of the inaugural Governor of Sikkim. Serving from May 18, 1975, to January 9, 1981, he steered the state through its early years post-merger with India. Lal’s tenure laid the groundwork for administrative reforms and fostered unity and development, marking a significant chapter in Sikkim’s political evolution.

Current Governor of Sikkim

लक्ष्मण प्रसाद आचार्य (Lakshman Prasad Acharya) (@Laxmanacharya54) / X

Shri Lakshman Prasad Acharya, renowned for his dedication to education and public welfare, currently holds the esteemed position of the 17th Governor of Sikkim. Assumed office on February 13, 2023, his tenure reflects a commitment to fostering development and harmony in the state. With a focus on inclusive governance, Governor Acharya continues to serve as a beacon of leadership, guiding Sikkim towards a brighter future.

List of Former Governors of Sikkim (1974-2024)

The Governor, serving as the paramount representative of the central government, holds the highest office in a state, embodying the essence of its leadership.

Here is the complete list of former Governors of Sikkim from 1974 to 2024:

Former Governors of Sikkim
S. No. Name From To
1. B. B. Lal 18 May 1981 09 Jan 1981
2. Homi J. H. Taleyarkhan 10 Jan 1981 17 Jun 1984
3. Kona Prabhakar Rao 18 Jun 1984 30 May 1985
4. Bhishma Narain Singh 31 May 1985 20 Nov 1985
5. T. V. Rajeswar 21 Nov 1985 01 Mar 1989
6. S. K. Bhatnagar 02 Mar 1989 07 Feb 1990
7. Radhakrishna Hariram Tahiliani 08 Feb 1990 20 Sep 1994
8. P. Shiv Shankar 21 Sep 1994 11 Nov 1995
9. K.V. Raghunatha Reddy 12 Nov 1995 09 Feb 1996
10. Chaudhary Randhir Singh 10 Feb 1996 17 May 2001
11. Kidar Nath Sahani 18 May 2001 25 Oct 2002
12. V. Rama Rao 26 Oct 2002 12 Jul 2006
13. R.S. Gavai 13 Jul 2006 12 Aug 2006
14. V. Rama Rao 13 Aug 2006 25 Oct 2007
15. Sudarshan Agarwal 25 Oct 2007 08 Jul 2008
16. Balmiki Prasad Singh 09 Jul 2008 30 Jun 2013
17. Shriniwas Dadasaheb Singh 01 Jul 2013 26 Aug 2018
18. Ganga Prasad 26 Aug 2018 12 Feb 2023
19. Lakshman Acharya 13 Feb 2023 Incumbent

List of Cricket Stadiums in Andhra Pradesh_70.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.