Home   »   MS Dhoni Sets New IPL Record...

MS Dhoni Sets New IPL Record in CSK’s Dominant Win

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) secured a resounding 78-run victory over the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) on Sunday, potentially shaping the trajectory of both teams’ 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL) campaigns. This emphatic win significantly boosted CSK’s net run rate, propelling them to the third position in the league standings. Conversely, SRH suffered their second consecutive defeat, slipping to the fourth spot.

Dhoni’s Historic Milestone: 150 IPL Wins

The match witnessed a remarkable milestone for the legendary MS Dhoni, as he became the first player to achieve 150 victories in the IPL. Dhoni’s remarkable feat leaves his CSK teammate Ravindra Jadeja and former Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma tied for a distant second with 133 wins each.

Other notable names in the top five include Dinesh Karthik with 125 wins and Dhoni’s longtime CSK teammate Suresh Raina with 122 wins.

Dhoni’s Captaincy Legacy

Prior to the 2024 tournament, Dhoni stepped down as CSK’s captain, handing over the reins to top-order batter Ruturaj Gaikwad. This marks the second time Dhoni has relinquished the CSK captaincy, having previously done so at the start of the 2022 season when Ravindra Jadeja was appointed captain.

However, after a disappointing run that saw CSK miss the playoffs for only the second time in their history, Dhoni was reappointed as the skipper and went on to lead the team to a record-equaling fifth IPL title in 2023.

CSK’s Resurgence Under Dhoni’s Mentorship

Dhoni’s second stint away from captaincy is proving fruitful for CSK, with the team winning five out of nine matches played so far. Notably, they have suffered only one home defeat this year, highlighting their dominance at their home ground.

As Dhoni continues to etch his name in IPL history, his mentorship and guidance have played a pivotal role in CSK’s resurgence, showcasing the enduring impact of one of the game’s greatest leaders.

List of Cricket Stadiums in Andhra Pradesh_70.1