Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   Prof Thalappil Pradeep wins the prestigious...

Prof Thalappil Pradeep wins the prestigious International Eni Award

Prof. Thalappil Pradeep from the Department of Chemistry at the Indian Institute of Technology Madras has been honored with the prestigious ‘Eni Award,’ a highly regarded global recognition for scientific research in the fields of energy and environment. Established in 2007, this is the 15th edition of the Eni Award. The President of Italy is expected to present him with the award in the near future. Prof. T. Pradeep’s exceptional work revolves around developing affordable and clean water solutions through the use of advanced materials.

His groundbreaking research led to the discovery of sustainable and cost-effective nanoscale materials that effectively remove toxic contaminants from water. These technologies have been successfully implemented as drinking water solutions, benefiting a remarkable 1.3 million people in India on a daily basis.

About the Prof. Thalappil Pradeep

Prof. Pradeep is a distinguished researcher focusing on various aspects of materials and has received numerous national accolades, including the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize. His work is supported by state-of-the-art scientific instruments that he has personally developed. With an impressive portfolio of 550 papers and over 100 patents, he has also played a key role in co-founding several successful companies.

In the field of nanotechnology, Prof. Pradeep has been a true trailblazer in developing applications for providing clean water. His pioneering efforts in pesticide removal have had a far-reaching impact, benefiting millions of people. Moreover, he and his team have gone on to create ‘water positive’ materials capable of effectively removing toxic contaminants like arsenic, uranium, and others from water. These groundbreaking technologies have been approved for national implementation, and he is now actively working to expand their reach to other countries, aiming to solve water-related challenges on a global scale.

The Eni Awards

The Eni Awards are presented in three distinct categories: Energy Transition, Energy Frontiers, and Advanced Environmental Solutions. In the Energy Transition category, Yu Huang from the University of California (Los Angeles, USA), and Jeffrey R. Long from the University of California (Berkeley, USA) were honored. The award for the Energy Frontiers category went to Matthew Rosseinsky from the University of Liverpool (UK). Meanwhile, Prof. Pradeep received the award for Advanced Environmental Solutions. The prestigious prize includes a gold medal, a citation, and a monetary component.

Its primary objective is to encourage groundbreaking advancements in energy efficiency, renewable energy, decarbonization, and environmental preservation. By doing so, it aims to inspire and support the work of young researchers in these critical fields. The award is sponsored by Eni, a global energy company with a significant presence and headquarters in Rome.

Find More Awards News Here

Prof Thalappil Pradeep wins the prestigious International Eni Award_4.1

SJVN bags 1st Prize in Swachhta Pakhwada Awards 2023 by MoP_110.1