Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   Dalai Lama Gets 1959 Ramon Magsaysay...

Dalai Lama Gets 1959 Ramon Magsaysay Award In Person After 64 Years

Dalai Lama Gets 1959 Ramon Magsaysay Award In Person After 64 Years_4.1

After a 64-year wait, members of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation personally presented the 1959 Ramon Magsaysay Award to the Dalai Lama at his residence. The award was the first international recognition given to the spiritual leader for his exceptional leadership of the Tibetan community’s courageous fight in safeguarding their sacred religion, which serves as the foundation of their culture and way of life. The award was given by the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation in the Philippines in August 1959.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Susanna B Afan, the President of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation, along with Foundation Trustee Emily A Abrera, had the honor of meeting with the Dalai Lama, a Nobel Peace Prize recipient, in person to present the 1959 Ramon Magsaysay Award, 64 years after it was awarded to him.

The office of the Tibetan spiritual leader has reported that his elder brother, Gyalo Thonden, had accepted the Magsaysay Award on behalf of the Dalai Lama in Manila, Philippines, in August 1959. Following his exile from Tibet in 1959, the Dalai Lama has resided in India.

Who is Dalai Lama?

The Dalai Lama is the spiritual leader of the Tibetan people and is regarded as one of the most important figures in Tibetan Buddhism. The title “Dalai Lama” is a combination of the Mongolian word “dalai,” meaning ocean, and the Tibetan word “lama,” meaning guru, teacher, or mentor. The Dalai Lama is believed to be the reincarnation of Avalokiteshvara, the bodhisattva of compassion, and is responsible for leading the Tibetan people in spiritual and secular matters.

The current and 14th Dalai Lama is Tenzin Gyatso, who was born in Tibet in 1935. He was recognized as the Dalai Lama at the age of two and was enthroned in 1950. In 1959, he fled Tibet following a failed uprising against Chinese rule and has since been living in exile in India. The Dalai Lama is a Nobel Peace Prize laureate and has been a vocal advocate for nonviolence, human rights, and religious harmony throughout his life. He is widely respected and admired for his teachings, wisdom, and compassion, and has followers all over the world.

About the Ramon Magsaysay Award

Dalai Lama Gets 1959 Ramon Magsaysay Award In Person After 64 Years_5.1

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award that recognizes individuals and organizations in Asia who demonstrate exceptional courage, integrity, and service to their communities. Established in 1957, the award was named after the late Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay, who was known for his honest leadership and dedication to public service. The award is often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Asia” and is administered by the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation, based in Manila, Philippines.

The award is given in six categories, namely government service, public service, community leadership, journalism, creative arts, and peace and international understanding. Recipients of the award receive a certificate, a medal, and a cash prize.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award has recognized individuals and organizations from various fields, including social work, education, the arts, and science, among others. The award has become one of the most prestigious honors in Asia and has helped raise awareness of the significant contributions of individuals and organizations in promoting social justice, human rights, and democratic values in the region.

List of Indian recipients of the Ramon Magsaysay Award:

Name Year of Award Category
Vinoba Bhave 1958 Community Leadership
Jayaprakash Narayan 1965 Public Service
Mother Teresa 1962 Peace and International Understanding
Satyajit Ray 1992 Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts
M.S. Swaminathan 1986 Public Service
Arvind Kejriwal 2006 Emergent Leadership
Shanta Sinha 2003 Community Leadership
Rajendra Singh 2001 Community Leadership
Kulandei Francis 2012 Community Leadership
Bezwada Wilson 2016 Emergent Leadership
Ravish Kumar 2019 Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts

Note: This list includes only individuals who were born in India or have Indian nationality.

You may also read this:

Asha Bhosle to receive Lata Deenanath Mangeshkar Puraskar

Find More Awards News Here

Dalai Lama Gets 1959 Ramon Magsaysay Award In Person After 64 Years_6.1


International Day of Persons with Disabilities 2022: 3 December_90.1