Home   »   The Nobel Peace Prize 2021 announced

The Nobel Peace Prize 2021 announced

The Nobel Peace Prize 2021 announced_4.1

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov “for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace”. Maria Ressa uses freedom of expression to expose abuse of power, use of violence and growing authoritarianism in her native country, the Philippines. Dmitry Muratov has for decades defended freedom of speech in Russia under increasingly challenging conditions.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The Norwegian Nobel Committee is convinced that freedom of expression and freedom of information are crucial prerequisites for democracy and protection against war and conflict. The 2021 peace prize laureates are representative of all journalists who stand up for this ideal in a world in which democracy and freedom of the press face increasingly adverse conditions.

Find More Awards News Here

The Nobel Peace Prize 2021 announced_5.1

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2021 announced_90.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *