Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   World Test Championship 2023

ICC World Test Championship Final 2023: Australia Crowned as new ICC World Test Champions

Australia Crowned ICC World Test Championship 2023

Australia clinched the title of World Test Champions in a commanding fashion, securing a resounding 209-run victory over India in the thrilling WTC Final at The Oval. Travis Head and Steve Smith’s remarkable centuries in the first innings laid the foundation for Australia’s early control of the Test.

Despite India’s valiant response, the match extended to a fifth day, but they fell short of an extraordinary record chase, ultimately being bowled out for 234. Australia scripted history on Sunday, June 11 as they became the first men’s team in world cricket to win an International Cricket Council (ICC) world title in all three formats.

2023 ICC World Test Championship Final

Player of the Match: Travis Head (163 off 174 balls in 1st innings, 18 off 27 balls in 2nd innings). Australia won the ICC Test Championship mace for the first time, and were also awarded the cash prize of US$1.6 million, while India won US$800,000.


  • 50-over World Cups: 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
  • Champions Trophy: 2006, 2009
  • T20 World Cup – 2021
  • World Test Championship – 2021-23

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

World Test Championship 2023, Scott Boland and Lyon Lead Australia’s Bowling Charge

Australia’s triumph in the World Test Championship final was fueled by an exceptional bowling performance led by Scott Boland. Boland made early breakthroughs with two crucial dismissals on the final day, setting the tone for an impressive display. Accompanied by the contributions of Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Starc, Australia systematically dismantled India’s batting lineup, ultimately clinching the title. Nathan Lyon’s stellar performance throughout the Test Championship made him the highest wicket-taker in the world.

2023 ICC Men’s World Test Championship: Prize Money And Points Table

ICC World Test Championship Final 2023: Australian Batsmen Shine Bright in ICC World Test Championship Cycle

Australia’s dominance in the WTC cycle was bolstered by their formidable batting lineup, with four of their top six run-scorers featuring prominently in the rankings. Usman Khawaja and Marnus Labuschagne showcased their prowess, accumulating an impressive tally of runs, with only Joe Root surpassing them in scoring. Furthermore, Travis Head and Steve Smith, the heroes of the first innings in the WTC Final, displayed their consistency throughout the Championship, contributing significantly with 1407 and 1389 runs respectively.

Find More Sports News Here

ICC World Test Championship Final 2023: Australia wins_4.1

ICC Men's World Test Championship 2023: Prize money and Points table_110.1