20th Laureus Awards 2020 announced in Berlin

The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award ceremony honouring individuals and teams from the world of sports along with sporting achievements throughout the year. It was established in 1999 by Laureus Sport for Good Foundation founding patrons Daimler and Richemont. This is the 20th anniversary of the prestigious Laureus Award which celebrates the best in the world of sport. The event was held in Berlin, Germany.

British F1 ace Lewis Hamilton and Lionel Messi were declared the joint winners of the prestigious Laureus World Sportsman of the year award in Berlin. The duo received the same number of votes, a first in the 20-year history of the awards with the jury unable to split Hamilton and Messi.

Below is the complete list of winners of  Laureus World Sports Awards:

S. No. Award Name Winner
1 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Lewis Hamilton and Lionel Messi
2 Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year Simone Biles
3 Laureus World Team of the Year  South Africa Men’s Rugby Team
4 Laureus Best Sporting Moment Carried on the shoulders of a nation’ – Sachin Tendulkar
5 Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Egan Bernal
6 Laureus World Comeback of the Year Sophia Flörsch
7 Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Oksana Masters
8 Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Chloe Kim
9 Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award: Dirk Nowitzki
10 Laureus Academy Exceptional Achievement Award Spanish Basketball Federation
11 Laureus Sport for Good Award South Bronx United


Find More Awards Here


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *