Current Affairs   »   Complete State-wise List of Chief Minister...   »   States and Capitals: India Now Has...

States and Capitals: India Now has 28 States and 8 UTs 2022

States and Capitals

According to the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, the appointed day for the two Union Territories J&K and Ladakh was October 31. This is for the first time that a state is converted into two Union Territories. The total number of states in the country will now be 28, with effect from 26th January 2020, India has 8 union territories. 

Agneepath Scheme 2022

Countries Capital and Currencies

Union Territories Of India

The Union Territories of Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli have become a single union territory since January 26 through a Bill passed by the Parliament in the winter session. With the merger of Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the number of UT’s have come down to eight. Out of all the states, three states i.e. Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, and Uttarakhand have different capitals for their summer and winter sessions of the legislature.

As students, you should know the complete list of Indian States and capitals so that you can answer general Knowledge questions. Here, we are providing the latest list of Indian States and Capitals in 2022.

India is a federal union made up of 28 states and 8 union territories, totalling 36 separate entities. Districts and smaller administrative units are subdivided further inside the states and union territories. Each state in India has its own administrative, legislative, and judicial capital. All three responsibilities, according to some accounts, are carried out in the same capital. Each state is led by a Chief Minister.

According to The States Reorganization Act 1956, the states of India were organized based on linguistic lines. There are 28 states and 8 Union Territories in India now. India consists of 400 cities altogether. India has eight metropolitan cities and they are Kolkata, Mumbai, New Delhi, Chennai, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Ahmedabad and Pune. The Prime Minister of India planned to develop 100 smart cities in India in the future. Indore bagged continuously 4 times the award of Smart city.

States and Capitals of India

Here is the complete list of 28 States and Capitals of India

S.NO State Capital CM Governor
1 Andhra Pradesh Amaravati YS Jagan Mohan Reddy Biswa Bhusan Harichandan
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar Pema Khandu B. D. Mishra
3 Assam Dispur Himanta Biswa Sarma Jagdish Mukhi
4 Bihar Patna Nitish Kumar Phagu Chauhan
5 Chhattisgarh Raipur Bhupesh Baghel Sushri Anusuiya Uikey
6 Goa Panaji Pramod Sawant P.S. Sreedharan Pillai
7 Gujarat Gandhinagar Bhupendra Patel Acharya Dev Vrat
8 Haryana Chandigarh Manohar Lal Bandaru Dattatraya
9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla Jairam Thakur Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar
10 Jharkhand Ranchi Hemant Soren Ramesh Bais
11 Karnataka Bengaluru Basavaraj Bommai Thaawarchand Gehlot
12 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram Pinarayi Vijayan Arif Mohammed Khan
13 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal Shivraj Singh Chouhan Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel
14 Maharashtra Mumbai Uddhav Thackeray Bhagat Singh Koshyari
15 Manipur Imphal N. Biren Singh La. Ganesan
16 Meghalaya Shillong Conrad Kongkal Sangma Satya Pal Malik
17 Mizoram Aizawl Pu Zoramthanga Kambhampati Haribabu
18 Nagaland Kohima Neiphiu Rio Jagdish Mukhi
19 Odisha Bhubaneswar Naveen Patnaik Ganeshi Lal
20 Punjab Chandigarh Bhagwant Singh Mann Banwarilal Purohit
21 Rajasthan Jaipur Ashok Gehlot Kalraj Mishra
22 Sikkim Gangtok PS Golay Ganga Prasad
23 Tamil Nadu Chennai M. K. Stalin R. N. Ravi
24 Telangana Hyderabad K Chandrasekhar Rao Tamilisai Soundararajan
25 Tripura Agartala Biplab Kumar Deb Satyadeo Narain Arya
26 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow Yogi Aditya Nath Anandiben Patel
27 Uttarakhand Dehradun Pushkar Singh Dhami Lt. Gen. Gurmit Singh
28 West Bengal Kolkata Mamata Banerjee Jagdeep Dhankhar

Complete list of 8 Union Territories:

S.NO Union Territories Capital CM Lt. Governor
1 Andaman and Nicobar Island Port Blair NA D K Joshi
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh NA Banwarilal Purohit
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman NA Praful Patel
4 Delhi Delhi Arvind Kejriwal Anil Baijal
5 Ladakh NA NA Radha Krishna Mathur
6 Lakshadweep Kavaratti NA Praful Patel
7 Jammu and Kashmir NA NA Manoj Sinha
8 Puducherry Pondicherry N. Rangaswamy Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan

States and Capitals: India Now Has 28 States and 8 UTs 2022_110.1

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Find More Miscellaneous News Here

हिंदी में पढ़ें

States and Capitals of India: Frequently Asked Questions

Q.1 Presently, how many States and UTs are present in our country?

Answer: There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country which was in effect from 26th January 2020.

Q2. Who is the head of the Union Territories of India?

Answer: Lt. Governors & Administrators are considered to be the head of a Union Territories of India.

Q3. Name the state which has been bifurcated to make union territory.

Answer: Jammu and Kashmir state was split into two new Union Territories: Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

Q4. What are the latest updates on the Union Territories of India?

Answer: Daman & Diu got merged with Dadar & Nagar Haveli in 2020.

Q5. Which is the smallest Union Territory of India?

Answer: Lakshwadeep is the smallest Union Territory of India.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Join the Conversation

  1. States and Capitals: India Now Has 28 States and 8 UTs 2022_40.1
  2. States and Capitals: India Now Has 28 States and 8 UTs 2022_50.1
  3. States and Capitals: India Now Has 28 States and 8 UTs 2022_60.1
  4. States and Capitals: India Now Has 28 States and 8 UTs 2022_70.1
  5. States and Capitals: India Now Has 28 States and 8 UTs 2022_80.1
  6. States and Capitals: India Now Has 28 States and 8 UTs 2022_90.1


  1. Thanks for this kind information 🙂. My exams are coming soon and this really helped me alot. Thank you 😌

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *