Home   »   Alfred Aho Wins the 2020 ACM...

Alfred Aho Wins the 2020 ACM Turing Award

Alfred Aho Wins the 2020 ACM Turing Award_4.1

Lawrence Gussman Professor Emeritus of Computer Science, Alfred V. Aho has won the 2020 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) A.M. Turing Award, known informally as the “Nobel Prize of computing.” Aho shares the award with his long-time collaborator Jeffrey David Ullman.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Aho and Ullman began working together at Bell Labs in 1967 and their early efforts included developing efficient algorithms for analyzing and translating programming languages. Even when Ullman began a career in academia in 1969 while Aho remained at Bell Labs, they continued their collaboration for several decades and shaped the foundations of programming language theory and implementation, as well as algorithm design and analysis.

About the Turing Award:

The Turing Award carries a $1 million prize, with financial support provided by Google, Inc. It is named for Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing.

Find More Awards News Here

Alfred Aho Wins the 2020 ACM Turing Award_5.1

Alfred Aho Wins the 2020 ACM Turing Award_6.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *