Home   »   Goldman Environmental Prize 2024

Alok Shukla Wins Prestigious Goldman Environmental Prize 2024

Alok Shukla, a renowned environmental activist and convenor of Chhattisgarh Bachao Andolan, has been selected for the prestigious 2024 Goldman Environmental Prize. Also known as the “Green Nobel Prize,” this annual award honours grassroots environmental champions worldwide for their outstanding contributions to environmental protection.

Winners of the 2024 Goldman Environmental Prize

This year, seven people from six inhabited regions of the globe have been selected for the annual Goldman Environmental Prize. They are :

Serial no. Winner  Country Region 
1 Marcel Gomes  Brazil South and Central


2 Murrawah Maroochy Johnson  Australia Islands & Island Nations
3 Alok Shukla  India Asia
4 Teresa Vicente  Spain Europe
5 Andrea Vidaurre United States of America North America
6 Nonhle Mbuthuma and Sinegugu Zukulu  South Africa Africa

Protecting the Hasdeo Arand Forest

Shukla’s recognition stems from his relentless efforts to safeguard the Hasdeo Arand Forest, considered the lungs of Chhattisgarh. In 2010, the government auctioned two coal blocks in this area to private companies for mining. To counter this threat, Shukla founded the Hasdeo Aranya Bachao Sangharsh Samiti and mobilized local tribal communities.

Through sustained activism and pressure, Shukla succeeded in compelling the government to reverse its policy of auctioning 21 proposed coal mines in the Hasdeo Aranya area, ultimately leading to the cancellation of the proposed auction in 2022.

Global Recognition for Environmental Leadership

The Goldman Environmental Prize, established in 1989 by American couple Richard and Rhoda Goldman, aims to honor grassroots environmental leaders, draw international attention to environmental problems, and encourage action. This year, seven individuals from six inhabited regions of the globe have been selected for the prestigious award.

Previous Indian Winners

Alok Shukla joins the ranks of seven previous Indian recipients of the Goldman Environmental Prize, including renowned activists like Medha Patkar (1992), M.C. Mehta (1996), Rashida Bee and Champa Devi Shukla (2004), Ramesh Agarwal (2014), and Prafulla Samantara (2017). These remarkable individuals have fought tirelessly for environmental justice, land rights, and sustainable development across various parts of India.

Grassroots Environmental Activism

The Goldman Environmental Prize defines grassroots leaders as individuals involved in local efforts where positive change is created through community or citizen participation. Shukla’s recognition highlights the critical role played by grassroots activism in protecting the environment and preserving natural resources for future generations.

As Alok Shukla receives this prestigious award, his efforts serve as an inspiration for environmental champions around the world, reminding us of the power of collective action and the importance of protecting our planet’s precious ecosystems.

List of Cricket Stadiums in Andhra Pradesh_70.1