Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   Asia Cup Winning Captains

Asia Cup Winning Captains

Asia Cup was started as a cricket tournament among the Asian Nations by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC). It has been scheduled to be conducted once in every 2 years. The first edition of the Asia Cup was held on 1984 between the three Asian cricketing powers – India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka. Since the start of this tournament, we have had 16 editions, including 14 ODI tournaments & 2 T20 tournaments.

Who has won the Asia Cup tournament from 1984 to 2023?

India is the most successful team in the Asia Cup history, having won the tournament eight times. Sri Lanka is the second most successful team with six titles, while Pakistan has won the tournament twice. Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Hong Kong have yet to win the Asia Cup.

Year Winner        Captain
2023 India Rohit Sharma
2022 Sri Lanka Dasun Shanaka
2018 India Rohit Sharma
2016 India MS Dhoni
2014 Sri Lanka Angelo Mathews
2012 Pakistan Misbah-ul-Haq
2010 India MS Dhoni
2008 Sri Lanka Mahela Jayawardene
2004 Sri Lanka Marvan Atapattu
2000 Pakistan Moin Khan
1997 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga
1995 India Mohammad Azharuddin
1990/91 India Mohammad Azharuddin
1988 India Dilip Vengsarkar
1986 Sri Lanka Duleep Mendis
1984 India Sunil Gavaskar
























Which team has won the Asia Cup, the most times?

India has won the Asia Cup Tournament 8 times, which is the most by any team.

  1. India- 8 times
  2. Sri Lanka – 6 times
  3. Pakistan – 2 times

India has won the Asia Cup in 1984, 1988, 1990/91, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018, & 2023.

Sri Lanka comes second with 5 Trophies in 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014 & 2022.

Pakistan was the Champions in 2010 & 2012.

No other Asian teams, including Bangladesh, have won a single edition of the Asia Cup.

Find More Sports News Here

Ferrari's Carlos Sainz Wins Singapore Grand Prix 2023_110.1