Home   »   Bengali Writer Shirshendu Mukyopadhyaya Receives 2023...

Bengali Writer Shirshendu Mukyopadhyaya Receives 2023 Kuvempu Award


In a prestigious recognition of his literary contributions, renowned Bengali writer Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay has been awarded the 2023 Kuvempu Rashtriya Puraskar. The national award, named in honour of the late Kannada poet Kuvempu, celebrates writers who have made significant contributions to any Indian language.

Prolific Career and Diverse Genres

Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay, an accomplished author with a prolific literary career, has penned over 90 books, encompassing a diverse range of genres, including travelogues and fiction for children. The esteemed award comes with a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh, a silver medal, and a citation.

Recognition by the Kuvempu Rashtriya Puraskar Committee

The selection committee for the Kuvempu Rashtriya Puraskar, chaired by BL Shankar, President of the Rashtrakavi Kuvempu Trust, comprised Nirmal Kanti Bhattacharya, Geetha Vijayakumar, and Agrahara Krishnamurthy. The committee praised Mukyopadhyaya for bringing “new sensibilities to his writings and enriching Indian literature through his works in the Bengali language.”

A Symbol of Literary Excellence

The Kuvempu Rashtriya Puraskar holds significance as an annual literary award that recognizes the outstanding contributions of writers across various Indian languages. The previous year’s recipient was Tamil writer Imayam, adding to the prestigious list of literary luminaries acknowledged by this esteemed award.

Mukyopadhyaya’s Literary Legacy

Shirshendu Mukyopadhyaya’s diverse body of work has not only captivated readers but also contributed significantly to the cultural tapestry of Indian literature. His ability to weave captivating narratives, coupled with his exploration of varied themes, has garnered widespread acclaim.

Applause from the Literary Community

As the literary community applauds this well-deserved honour bestowed upon Mukyopadhyaya, the Kuvempu Rashtriya Puraskar continues to serve as a beacon, recognizing and celebrating the literary richness and diversity that graces the Indian literary landscape.

Important Questions Related to Exams

1. What is the 2023 Kuvempu Rashtriya Puraskar awarded for?
A) Scientific Achievements
B) Literary Contributions
C) Artistic Excellence

2. Which genre is NOT mentioned as part of Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay’s diverse body of work?
A) Fiction for Children
B) Mystery Novels
C) Travelogues

3. What is the cash prize accompanying the Kuvempu Rashtriya Puraskar?
A) Rs 1 Lakh
B) Rs 5 Lakh
C) Rs 10 Lakh

4. Who was the previous year’s recipient of the Kuvempu Rashtriya Puraskar?
A) Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay
B) Imayam
C) BL Shankar

Kindly share your responses in the comment section.

Bengali Writer Shirshendu Mukyopadhyaya Receives 2023 Kuvempu Award_4.1

Bengali Writer Shirshendu Mukyopadhyaya Receives 2023 Kuvempu Award_5.1