Home   »   State News   »   Border dispute agreement struck between Arunachal...

Border dispute agreement struck between Arunachal Pradesh and Assam

According to the chief ministers of both states, Assam and Arunachal Pradesh have taken a step toward settling their seven-decade-old boundary dispute by signing the Namsai Declaration. Following their third round of discussions on the matter, the Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Pema Khandu and his Assam colleague Himanta Biswa Sarma signed the declaration in Namsai.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams


  • The 804-km long shared border between the two states. Although there was initially no conflict, over time, claims that citizens of one state were encroaching on the territory of the other have resulted in arguments and even violence. Since 1989, a lawsuit about the matter has been pending before the Supreme Court.
  • There were 123 border settlements that were in contention earlier. They have now decided to limit that to 86 villages. Additionally, they have decided to remedy the problem by September 15 of this year.
  • The signing has furthered the closeness and brotherhood between the two neighbouring northeastern states, according to both CMs, who called it a milestone and landmark.
  • 28 of the 123 contested villages that are located within Arunachal Pradesh‘s constitutional border will remain with the state, according to the announcement. In contrast, three villages will continue to belong to Assam as a result of Arunachal Pradesh‘s abandonment of its claims. Six more villages would remain in Arunachal Pradesh because they could not be discovered on the Assam side.

Important Takeaways FOr All Competitive Exams:

  • Chief Minister of Assam: Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma
  • Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh: Pema Khandu

Find More State In News Here

Border dispute agreement struck between Arunachal Pradesh and Assam_4.1Rajasthan introduces the first digital Lok Adalat in India_80.1


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *