Home   »   Central Government Committee on LGBTQ+ Community...

Central Government Committee on LGBTQ+ Community Welfare

In the landmark Supriyo Chakraborty vs. Union Of India Case 2023, the Special Marriage Act of 1954 was challenged for its exclusion of same-sex marriages, citing a violation of Article 14 of the fundamental rights. Despite the Act allowing marriages between individuals of different religions, it did not extend this provision to same-sex couples. The Supreme Court upheld this exclusion, prompting the government to establish a committee to address the concerns of the LGBTQ+ community without legally recognizing their relationships as marriages.

Composition of the Committee

The committee, chaired by Union Home Secretary Rajiv Gauba, comprises six members including secretaries from key ministries. Social Justice and Empowerment Secretary Saurabh Garg serves as the convenor, with representatives from the ministries of Home Affairs, Women and Child Development, Health and Family Welfare, and Law and Justice.

Mandate of the Committee

The committee’s primary objective is to recommend measures aimed at eliminating discrimination against LGBTQ+ individuals in various aspects of life. This includes ensuring equal access to goods and services, enhancing safety measures, preventing involuntary medical interventions or surgeries, and addressing disparities in social welfare entitlements. Additionally, the committee is empowered to tackle any other issues deemed necessary for the protection and well-being of the LGBTQ+ community.

Central Government Committee on LGBTQ+ Community Welfare_4.1