Home   »   Centre to roll back 3 farm...

Centre to roll back 3 farm laws

Centre to roll back 3 farm laws_4.1

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has announced that his government will repeal the three contentious agricultural laws and requested protesting farmers to go back to their fields and homes. The announcement came on the Gurupurab/Prakash Utsav festival, when Sikhism founder Guru Nanak’s birthday is celebrated in the country. The decision comes just ahead of state polls in Punjab and Uttar Pradesh where the farm protests were predicted to dent the BJP’s electoral fortunes.  Last year, in September, President Ram Nath Kovind gave his assent for the three bills passed by the Parliament.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

What’s ahead?

Since the three farm bills have already been passed into law, the government will have to formally bring three new bills to repeal them and get them passed in both Houses.

The three contentious bills are:

  • The Farmer’s Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020,
  • The Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement of Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020 and
  • The Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill.

Find More National News Here

Centre to roll back 3 farm laws_5.1

Piyush Goyal launched India's 1st Digital Food Museum in Tamil Nadu_90.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *