Home   »   General Studies   »   City of Seven Islands

City of Seven Islands, Know the City Name

City of Seven Islands

Once known as Bombay until 1995, Mumbai pulsates with energy as a dynamic metropolis that never sleeps. Yet, beyond its bustling façade, Mumbai harbors a fascinating history rooted in its beginnings as a fusion of seven islands, earning it the title “City of Seven Islands.” This article explores Mumbai’s transformation, tracing its journey from a marshy archipelago to the vibrant urban hub it stands as today and highlights the unique neighborhoods that grace each of the seven islands.

The Origins

Mumbai’s journey began when the Portuguese princess Catherine of Braganza’s marriage to King Charles II of England in 1662 included the dowry of these seven islands. Subsequently, these islands passed into the hands of the British Crown before being leased to the East India Company for a mere 10 pounds per annum. Recognizing the potential of this natural sea harbor, the Company initiated a plan in 1671 to develop Bombay, which would take nearly two centuries to complete. The unification of the islands in 1838 marked a significant milestone, as the area was filled with soil reclaimed from the sea.

Isle of Bombay

Stretching from Malabar Hills to Donrgi, the Isle of Bombay houses travelers like the Walkeshwar Temple and the hanging gardens. These old boutique stores and landmarks offer a glimpse into the city’s history and spiritual heritage.

Other Important Articles
Nicknames of Indian Cities Financial Capital of India
City of Prime Ministers Sweet City of India

Colaba and Little Colaba (Old Woman’s Island)

Colaba, a neighborhood dotted with colonial charm, juxtaposes modern commerce within the backdrop of colonial architecture. The iconic Gateway of India, the historic Taj Hotel and the bustling Colaba Causeway market are must-visit spots. Street vendors offer factory seconds of international brands, making it a shopping paradise.


Once a humble fishing village known as Matsya Gram, Mazagaon now serves as one of the city’s harbor ports. It boasts cultural gems like Our Lady of the Rosary Church, the mausoleum of Aga Khan I and Mumbai’s sole Chinese temple.


A ride across the Bandra-Worli Sea Link provides breathtaking views of Mumbai’s majestic coastline. The engineering marvel offers a half-hour journey filled with uninterrupted vistas of the expansive sky and the deep blue sea.


Parel has evolved into a bustling residential hub, but it retains remnants of its industrial past in the form of historic textile miles. The few miles that remain offer a glimpse into Mumbai’s industrial heritage. Notable places include the Lalbaugcha Raja Ganpati Temple and the vibrant spice market.


Mahim is home to the iconic Mahim Causeway, connecting South Mumbai to the northern and western parts of the city. St. Michael’s Church and the domed Makhdoom Ali Mahimi shrine are cultural landmarks that enrich the area’s heritage.

Find More General Studies News Here

Largest, Longest, Tallest and Biggest Things in India Till 2023_90.1



Why is Mumbai called the “City of Seven Islands”?

Mumbai earned the nickname “City of Seven Islands” because it originally consisted of seven separate islands: Isle of Bombay, Mazagaon, Parel, Worli, Mahim, Little Colaba (Old Woman’s Island) and Colaba. Over time, these islands were unified to form the vibrant metropolis we know today.

What is the historical significance of Mumbai’s seven islands?

The seven islands were part of the dowry offered by Portugal to England when Princess Catherine of Braganza married King Charles II of England in 1662. They eventually came under the control of the British Crown and were later leased to the East India Company for development.

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.