Home   »   National Medical Commission

Dr. B.N. Gangadhar named as Chairperson of the National Medical Commission

In a significant move to bolster medical education and healthcare governance in India, the Appointment Committee of the Cabinet has announced several high-profile appointments to the National Medical Commission (NMC). These appointments are expected to bring fresh perspectives and expertise to the country’s apex medical education regulator.

Dr. BN Gangadhar Takes Helm as NMC Chairperson

Dr. BN Gangadhar, who was serving as the officiating chairperson, has been officially appointed as the head of the National Medical Commission. This appointment marks a crucial step in stabilizing the leadership of this vital organization.

Key Points:

  • Dr. Gangadhar is the former director of the National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS).
  • He previously served as the president of the Medical Assessment and Rating Board.
  • His extensive experience in mental health and medical administration is expected to bring valuable insights to the NMC.

New President for Medical Assessment and Rating Board

Dr. Sanjay Behari has been appointed as the new president of the Medical Assessment and Rating Board. This board plays a critical role in evaluating and maintaining the standards of medical education institutions across the country.

Notable Facts:

  • Dr. Behari is currently the director of the Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology in Thiruvananthapuram.
  • His expertise in neurosurgery and medical education is likely to contribute significantly to the board’s functions.

Strengthening Specialized Medical Education Boards

PG Medical Education Board

Dr. Anil D’Cruz has been appointed as a whole-time member of the Post-Graduate Medical Education Board. This appointment is expected to enhance the quality and standards of post-graduate medical education in India.


  • Dr. D’Cruz is the Director for Oncology at Apollo Hospital, Mumbai.
  • His expertise in cancer treatment and research will be invaluable in shaping post-graduate medical curricula.

UG Medical Education Board

Dr. Rajendra Achyut Badwe joins the Under-Graduate Medical Education Board as a part-time member. This appointment aims to strengthen the foundation of medical education at the undergraduate level.

Important Details:

  • Dr. Badwe is a Professor Emeritus at the Tata Memorial Centre, Mumbai.
  • His experience in oncology and medical research is expected to contribute to improving undergraduate medical training.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • National Medical Commission Formation: 25 September 2020; 
  • National Medical Commission Headquarters: New Delhi, India

Dr. B.N. Gangadhar named as Chairperson of the National Medical Commission_4.1