Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   Durand Cup Winners List (1950 -...

Durand Cup Winners List (1950 – 2023) Today Updated

Durand Cup Winners List (1950 – 2023)

The Durand Cup is the oldest football tournament in India. It was first played in 1888 and is named after Mortimer Durand, the then Viceroy of India. The tournament is currently organized by the Indian Army and is open to all teams, including both military and civilian teams.

Since 1950, Mohun Bagan and East Bengal have been the most successful teams in the Durand Cup, with 16 titles each. They are followed by Mohammedan SC (5 titles), JCT (4 titles), and Border Security Force (3 titles). The last time the Durand Cup was held was in 2022, and it was won by Bengaluru FC.

The 2023 Durand Cup is scheduled to be held from August 3 to 3 September, 2023. This year’s tournament is unique as it includes 24 teams from the Indian Super League, I-League, and the Armed Forces. This number of teams is an increase from last year’s 20, and they have been distributed into six groups, each consisting of four teams. Among these groups, three will compete in matches held in Kolkata, two in Guwahati, and one in Kokrajhar, Assam. The Durand Cup 2023 football final will be played on September 3 at the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan (Salt Lake Stadium) in Kolkata.

Durand Cup 2023 Schedule: Date, Teams, Fixtures And Points Table

List Of Durand Cup Winners(1950-2023)

Year Winners Runners-up
1950 Hyderabad City Police 1–0 (a.e.t.) Mohun Bagan
1951 East Bengal 2–1 Rajasthan Armed Constabulary
1952 East Bengal Hyderabad City Police
1953 Mohun Bagan National Defence Academy
1954 Hyderabad City Police 1–0 Hindustan Aircraft Limited
1955 Madras Regimental Centre 0–0 (a.e.t.) 3–2 Indian Air Force
1956 East Bengal Hyderabad City Police
1957 Hyderabad City Police East Bengal
1958 Madras Regimental Centre 2–0 Gorkha Brigade
1959 Mohun Bagan 3–1 Mohammedan
1960 Mohun Bagan and East Bengal (joint winners)
1961 Andhra Pradesh Police Mohun Bagan
1962 Tournament not held, due to Sino-Indian War
1963 Mohun Bagan 2–0 Andhra Pradesh Police
1964 Mohun Bagan East Bengal
1965 Mohun Bagan Punjab Police
1966 Gorkha Brigade Sikh Regimental Centre
1967 East Bengal Bengal Nagpur Railway
1968 Border Security Force East Bengal
1969 Gorkha Brigade Border Security Force
1970 East Bengal Mohun Bagan
1971 Border Security Force 1–0 Leaders Club
1972 East Bengal 1–0 Mohun Bagan
1973 Border Security Force Rajasthan Armed Constabulary
1974 Mohun Bagan JCT
1975 Border Security Force JCT
1976 Border Security Force and JCT (joint winners)
1977 Mohun Bagan 2–1 JCT
1978 East Bengal Mohun Bagan
1979 Mohun Bagan Punjab Police
1980 Mohun Bagan Mohammedan
1981 Border Security Force JCT
1982 Mohun Bagan and East Bengal (joint winners)
1983 JCT 2–1 Mohun Bagan
1984 Mohun Bagan East Bengal
1985 Mohun Bagan JCT
1986 Mohun Bagan East Bengal
1987 JCT Mohun Bagan
1988 Border Security Force East Bengal
1989 East Bengal Mohun Bagan
1990 East Bengal Mahindra & Mahindra
1991 East Bengal Border Security Force
1992 JCT Mohammedan
1993 East Bengal Punjab State Electricity Board
1994 Mohun Bagan East Bengal
1995 East Bengal Tata Football Academy
1996 JCT Al-Naft
1997 Kochin Mohun Bagan
1998 Mahindra & Mahindra East Bengal
1999 Salgaocar East Bengal
2000 Mohun Bagan Mahindra United
2001 Mahindra United Churchill Brothers
2002 East Bengal Army XI
2003 Salgaocar East Bengal
2004 East Bengal Mohun Bagan
2005 Army XI Sporting Goa
2006 Dempo JCT
2007 Churchill Brothers Mahindra United
2008 Mahindra United Churchill Brothers
2009 Churchill Brothers Mohun Bagan
2010 United JCT
2011 Churchill Brothers Prayag United
2012 Air India Dodsal
2013 Mohammedan ONGC
2014 Salgaocar Pune
2016 Army Green NEROCA
2019 Gokulam Kerala Mohun Bagan
2020 Tournament not held due to COVID-19 pandemic
2021 Goa Mohammedan
2022 Bengaluru Mumbai City
2023 Mohun Began SG East Bengal

Find More Sports News Here

Durand Cup 2023 Schedule: Date, Teams, Fixtures and Points Table_110.1