Home   »   Egypt retains World Squash Championship

Egypt retains World Squash Championship

Egypt have been crowned the SDAT (Sports Development Authority of Tamil Nadu) WSF(World Squash Federation) Squash World Cup Champions after beating Malaysia.

About the World Squash Championship:

  • The championship was held from 13 to 17 June in Express Avenue Mall in Chennai, ‎Tamil Nadu.
  • Eight countries including India participated in the tournament – Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Egypt, South Africa, Australia, and Colombia.
  • Egypt beat Malaysia 2-1 in the final.
  • Malaysia secured the silver medal in the championship.
  • Third place was shared jointly by hosts India and Japan.
  • The Tamil Nadu Chief Minister awarded the winning team with the golden cup.

Important takeaways for competitive examination:

  • M.K Stalin is the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.
  • ‘Udhayanidhi Stalin’ is the minister for Youth Welfare and Sports Development of Tamil Nadu.
  • N. Ramachandran is the Chairman of Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) and Vice Chairman of (Sports Development Authority of Tamil Nadu) SDAT.
  • Egypt had won the last edition of the World Cup which was also held in Chennai in 2011.

Find More Sports News Here

Egypt retains World Squash Championship_40.1

Egypt retains World Squash Championship_50.1