Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023:

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: Spain wins the title with 1-0 victory over England

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

Spain secured their first ever Women’s World Cup title with a 1-0 win over England at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup final in Sydney. The win marks a historic FIFA Women’s World Cup campaign for Spain who previously failed to make it past the Round of 16. Making it to the final after knockout wins over Switzerland, the Netherlands and Sweden, was already a first for Spain with the victory in the final cause for an even bigger celebration. Captain Olga Carmona smashed the decisive goal as Spain defeated England 1-0 to lift the FIFA Women’s World Cup title.

Spain’s first major international trophy made it the first European team to win the Women’s World Cup since Germany in 2007.In addition, Spain’s victory makes them only the second nation to have won both the men’s and the women’s World Cups. The other nation is Germany, who won the men’s World Cup in 1974 and 1990, and the women’s World Cup in 2003 and 2007. Spain’s victory is a historic moment for the team, for the country, and for the women’s game. It is a moment that will be remembered for many years to come.

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: Points Table And Results

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: Here is a full list of the winners

  • Young Player of the Tournament: Salma Paralluelo, Spain ( Spain’s 19-year-old star Salma Paralluelo was awarded Young Player of the Tournament after scoring as a substitute in both the semifinal and quarterfinal.)
  • Golden Glove: Mary Earps, England
  • Golden Boot: Hinata Miyazawa, Japan (Golden Boot for scoring a tournament-high five goals)
  • Silver Boot: Kadidiatou Diani, France
  • Bronze Boot: Alexandra Popp, Germany
  • Golden Ball: Aitana Bonmati, Spain
  • Silver Ball: Jennifer Hermoso, Spain
  • Bronze Ball: Amanda Ilestedt, Sweden

Find More Sports News Here


FIFA Women's World Cup 2023: Spain wins the title with 1-0 victory over England_4.1


ICC Unveils Male and Female Mascots For Cricket World Cup 2023_120.1