Home   »   General Studies   »   First Prime Minister of India

First Prime Minister of India, Know the Name

India, known for its abundant, cultural legacy, diversity and steadfast commitment to democracy, commenced its venture as a sovereign state on the 15th August 1947. This pivotal juncture marked the appointment of Jawaharlal Nehru as the first Prime Minister of India. Fondly known as Pandit Nehru or Chacha Nehru his progressive leadership played a pivotal role in shaping the trajectory of the nation during his early years of independence.

Who is the Prime Minister?

Prime Minister is the head of the government, whose powers are largely nominal and ceremonial. He is appointed by the President generally for the term of 5 years. The political party who wins a general election, the leader of that political party is appointed as the Prime Minister of India. Effective executive powers rest with the Council of Ministers, headed by the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minster acts as a leader of the house of chamber of Parliament, generally the Lok Sabha. In this role, the Prime Minster is tasked with representing the executive inn the legislature.

Who is First Prime Minister of India?

Jawaharlal Nehru, India’s first Prime Minister, stands as an iconic figure whose visionary leadership and indomitable spirit played a vital role in shaping the nation’s destiny after gaining independence from British rule.

First Prime Minister of India: Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru

Personal Details:

  • Birth date: 14th November 1889
  • Birth place: Allahabad, North- Western Provinces, British India
  • Parents: Motilal Nehru, Swarup Rani Nehru
  • Death: 27th May, 1964 at New Delhi, India

Early Life:

Jawaharlal Nehru was born on November 14, 1889, in Allahabad, India, to a prominent family. He received his education in England and returned to India to join the freedom struggle against British colonial rule. Nehru’s early life was influenced by his exposure to nationalist ideals and his family’s active involvement in India’s independence movement.

Jawaharlal Nehru as 1st Prime Minster of India

Jawaharlal Nehru became the first Prime Minister of Independent India on August 15, 1947. As Prime Minister of India, he played a crucial role in shaping the nation’s policies and governance. Nehru’s leadership focused on nation- building, socio-economic reforms and promoting secularism and democracy. He championed industrialization, agrarian reforms and the establishments of institutions like the Planning Commission. Nehru’s foreign policy emphasized non-alignment and peaceful coexistence. However, his tenure faced challenges including the integration of princely states, conflicts with Pakistan and the Indo-China border dispute. Despite these challenges, Nehru’s visionary leadership laid the foundation for India’s growth as a modern, democratic nation. He served as Prime Minister for the consecutive 17 years until his death on 27th May 1964.

Awards presented to First Prime Minster: Jawaharlal Nehru

Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India, received several prestigious awards, these are:

  • Bharat Ratna in 1955
  • Lenin Peace Prize in 1955
  • Order of the Yugolsav Star in 1954
  • An award was also named after him, Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding, established in 1965.

Institutions named after 1st Prime Minister: Jawaharlal Nehru

Several colleges and institutions named after him. Some of these are as follows:

  • Jawaharlal Nehru University
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Architecture and Fine Arts University
  • Jawaharlal Nehru College of Engineering

List of Former Prime Ministers of India (1947- 2023)

The current Prime Minister of India is Narendra Damodardas Modi, serving as Prime Minister since 2014.

Here is the list of former Prime Ministers of India from 1947 to 2023:

S. No. Name Tenure
1. Jawaharlal Nehru 15 August 1947- 27 May 1964
2. Gulzarilal Nanda 27 May 1964- 9 June 1964
3. Lal Bahadur Shastri 9 June 1964- 11 January 1966
4. Gulzarilal Nanda 11 January 1966- 24 January 1966
5. Indira Gandhi 24 January 1966- 24 March 1977
6. Morarji Desai 24 March 1977- 28 July 1979
7. Charan Singh 28 July 1979- 14 January 1980
8. Indira Gandhi 14 January 1980- 31 October 1984
9. Rajiv Gandhi 31 October 1984- 2 December 1989
10. V.P. Singh 2 December 1989- 10 November 1990
11. Chandra Shekhar 10 December 1990- 21 June 1991
12. P.V. Narasimha Rao 21 June 1991- 16 May 1996
13. Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16 May 1996- 1 June 1996
14. H.D. Deve Gowda 1 June 1996- 21 April 1998
15. Inder Kumar Gujral 21 April 1998- 19 March 1998
16. Atal Bihari Vajpayee 19 March 1998- 22 May 2004
17. Manmohan Singh 22 May 2004- 26 May 2014
18. Narendra Modi 2014- present

Find More General Studies News Here


Indian Nobel Laureates, Complete List (1913-2023)_180.1


Who was the first Prime Minister of India?

The first Prime Minister of India was Jawaharlal Nehru. He held his position from 15 August 1947, the day India gained Independence, until his death on 27 May 1964.

What were the major challenges Nehru faced during his tenure as India's first Prime Minister?

Nehru faced the challenges like the integration of princely states, conflicts with Pakistan and the Indo-China border dispute.

When did Jawaharlal Nehru become the first Prime Minister of India?

Jawaharlal Nehru assumed office as India’s Prime Minister on August 15, 1947, the same day India gained independence from British rule.

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.