Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   Gallantry Award Winners

Gallantry Award Winners Announced By President Draupadi Murmu on 25th January

Gallantry Award Winners 2024

President Droupadi Murmu announced 80 gallantry awards for the Indian armed forces on Thursday, January 25. Among them are six Kirti Chakra and 16 Shaurya Chakra recipients. These awards recognize the exceptional bravery and valor displayed by members of the armed forces in the line of duty.

What are Gallantry Awards?

Gallantry awards in India are prestigious honors bestowed upon individuals for exceptional acts of bravery and valor. Kirti Chakra stands as the nation’s second-highest peacetime gallantry award, following the Ashok Chakra, while the Shaurya Chakra ranks third in peacetime recognition.

In times of conflict, the Param Vir Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra, and Vir Chakra are the three highest wartime gallantry awards conferred upon personnel who display extraordinary bravery and determination in the face of adversity. These awards serve as symbols of the nation’s deep appreciation for the courage and sacrifice demonstrated by individuals in both peacetime and wartime situations.

Categories of Gallantry Awards

Gallantry Awards are categorized into two main groups:

1. Gallantry in the Face of Enemy:

  • Param Vir Chakra (PVC)
  • Mahavir Chakra (MVC)
  • Vir Chakra

2.  Gallantry Other than in the Face of Enemy:

  • Ashok Chakra
  • Kirti Chakra
  • Shaurya Chakra

These distinctions acknowledge acts of valor and courage exhibited in the face of enemy forces as well as instances where bravery is displayed in other challenging situations. The awards symbolize the nation’s appreciation for individuals who exhibit extraordinary courage and selflessness in the line of duty.

Kirti Chakra Awardees 2024

Kirti Chakra stands as the nation’s second-highest peacetime gallantry award. Check the names of the Kirti Chakra award winners:

  1. Major Digvijay Singh Rawat of the 21st Battalion (Parachute Regiment, Special Forces)
  2. Major Deependra Vikram Basnet from the Sikh Regiment’s fourth battalion
  3. Havildar Pawan Kumar Yadav from the 21st battalion of the Mahar Regiment
  4. Captain Anshuman Singh from the 26th Battalion of the Punjab Regiment (Army Medical Corps
  5. Havildar Abdul Majid of the Parachute Regiment’s ninth battalion (special forces)
  6. Sepoy Pawan Kumar from the 55th Battalion of Rashtriya Rifles

Shaurya Chakra Awardees 2024

Here are the names of the Shaurkya Chakra Award winners:

  1. Major Maneo Francis of the Parachute Regiment’s 21st battalion
  2. Major Amandeep Jakhar from the Sikh Regiment’s fourth battalion
  3. Naib Subedar Baria Sanjay Kumar Bhamar Singh of the Mahar Regiment
  4. Havildar Sanjay Kumar from 9 Assam Rifles
  5. Parshotam Kumar (civilian) from the Rashtriya Rifles
  6. Lieutenant Bimal Ranjan Behera of the Indian Navy
  7. Wing Commander Shailesh Singh (pilot) of the Indian Air Force
  8. Flight Lieutenant Hrishikesh Jayan Karuthedath (pilot) of the Indian Air Force
  9. Assistant Commandant Bibhor Kumar Singh of CRPF
  10. Mohan Lal from the Jammu and Kashmir Police
  11. Amit Raina from the Jammu and Kashmir Police
  12. Faroz Ahmad Dar from Jammu and Kashmir Police
  13. Varun Singh from the Jammu and Kashmir Police
  14. Captain MV Pranjal of the 63rd Battalion of Rashtriya Rifles
  15. Rifleman Alok Rao of 18 Assam Rifles

Apart from these awards, 53 Sena Medals (seven posthumous), one Nao Sena Medal (gallantry) and four Vayu Sena Medals (gallantry) were conferred upon the personnel by President Murmu.

Important Questions Related to Exams

Q1. Who announced the Gallantry Awards for the Indian armed forces in 2024?
Q2. How many Kirti Chakra recipients were there in the Gallantry Awards of 2024?
Q3. Name the categories of Gallantry Awards in India.
Q4. Who are the recipients of Kirti Chakra in 2024?
Q5. Which armed forces personnel received the Nao Sena Medal (gallantry) in 2024?
Q6. Who received the Vayu Sena Medals (gallantry) in 2024?

Check your knowledge and try to answer the questions in the comment section.

Most Expensive Fruit in the World 2024, List of Top-10_100.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.