Home   »   General Studies   »   Articles in Indian Constitution

How Many Articles are there in Indian Constitution?

The Indian Constitution, initially adopted on January 26, 1950, was carefully crafted during an elaborate drafting process that unfolded on November 26, 1949. This important date is now observed as Constitution Day. Renowned for its expansive coverage, the Indian Constitution holds a distinction as the world’s longest. Its journey began 395 articles organized into 22 parts, accompanied by 8 schedules. Over time, it has undergone significant evolution, now comprising 448 articles spread across 25 parts, enriched with 12 schedules. Importantly, this comprehensive transformation has been achieved through a total of 105 amendments.

Articles in Indian Constitution

There are total 448 articles in the Indian Constitution. Each set of articles covers important parts of the constitution including legislatures, executive, schedules, Parts of Indian Constitution, constitutional bodies, statutory bodies, fundamental rights and more.

Here is the list of Articles and their related subjects. These are the most important article of the Indian Constitution.

Parts Subjects Articles
Part I Union & Its Territory Articles 1-4
Part II Citizenship Article 5-11
Part III Fundamental Rights Article 12-35
Part IV Directive Principles Article 36-51
Part IV A Fundamental Duties Article 51A
Part V The Union Article 52-151
Part VI The States Article 152-237
Part VII 7th Amendment Act, 1956 repealed Part VII
Part VIII The Union Territories Article 239-242
Part IX The Panchayats Article 243-243O
Part IX A The Municipalities Article 243P-243ZG
Part IX B Co-operative Societies Article 243ZH- 243ZT
Part X Scheduled and Tribal Areas Article 244-244A
Part XI Relation between Union & States Article 245-263
Part XII Finance, Property, Contracts, and Suits Article 264-300A
Part XIII Trade, Commerce, and Intercourse within the territory of India Article 301-307
Part XIV Services under the Union and States Article 308-323
Part XIV A Tribunals Article 324-329 A
Part XV Elections Article 330-342
Part XVI Special Provisions related to certain classes Article 343-351
Part XVII Official Languages Article 352-360
Part XIX Emergency Provisions Article 361-367
Part XX Miscellaneous Article 368
Part XXI Temporary, Transitional, and Special Provisions Article 369-392
Part XXII Short title, Commencement, Authoritative Text in Hindi, and Repeals Article  393-395

Find More General Studies News Here

Which is the largest bone in human body?_100.1


How many articles are there in the Indian Constitution at present?

As of now, Indian Constitution has 448 articles in 25 parts and 12 schedules and it had 395 articles in 22 parts and 8 schedules at the time of its commencement.

When was the Indian Constitution adopted?

The Indian Constitution was officially adopted on 26 January 1950, marking the official establishment of India as a Republic.

What are the fundamental rights guaranteed by the Indian Constitution?

Fundamental rights are covered in Part III of the Constitution, from Article 12 to Article 35. These rights include the right to equality, freedom of speech and protection from discrimination.

What are the Directive Principles of State Policy?

Directive Principles of State Policy are outlined in Part IV of the constitution, from Article 36 to Article 51. They provide guidelines for the government to promote the welfare of the people.

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.