Home   »   General Studies   »   How many Spokes are there in...

How Many Spokes are there in Ashoka Chakra?

The Ashoka Chakra is a symbolic representation of the Dharmachakra, a wheel adorned with 24 spokes. It is also known as the ‘Wheel of Duty‘. Positioned at the center of the tricolor flag, the Ashoka Chakra was adopted on July 22, 1947, and features twenty-four spokes.

This emblem is prominently used at the heart of the national flag, appearing in navy blue on a white background, replacing the pre-independence symbol of the charkha (spinning wheel).

The Inspirations and Values Embodied by the Ashoka Chakra on India’s National Flag

The Ashoka Chakra finds its inspiration in a religious motif called the ‘Wheel of Dharma‘ present in Jainism, Hinduism, and Buddhism. The creators of the Indian flag later assigned distinct significance to each spoke of the Ashoka Chakra, symbolizing the values that India aspires to uphold and progress towards.

The Journey of India’s National Flag: From Gandhi’s Vision to the Ashoka Chakra Emblem

In the quest for India’s national flag, Mahatma Gandhi enlisted Pingali Venkayya to design a banner in red and green. The concept of the spinning wheel was inspired by Lala Hansraj’s vision. The spinning wheel, known as the Ashoka Chakra, derives its name from the emblem found on various edicts of Ashoka, most notably the Lion Capital of Ashoka.

The Fascinating ‘Wheel of Time’: The Ashoka Chakra and its Symbolism

Fascinatingly, each spoke of the Ashoka Chakra embodies a fundamental principle of life, while also representing the twenty-four hours in a day. This unique characteristic has earned it the title of the ‘Wheel of Time’. On July 22, 1947, the chakra with its twenty-four spokes was officially adopted, taking its prominent place at the center of the tricolour flag.

Meaning of each spoke in Ashoka Chakra

Spoke Meaning
1 Chastity – Inspires to lead a simple life
2 Health – Inspires to maintain physical and mental well-being
3 Peace – Strives to maintain peace and harmony throughout the country
4 Sacrifice – Willingness to make any sacrifice for the country and society
5 Morality – Commitment to uphold high moral standards in personal and professional life
6 Service – Readiness to serve the country and society when required
7 Forgiveness – Embracing a forgiving attitude towards humans and other creatures
8 Love – Feeling of affection and love towards the country and all living beings
9 Friendship – Cultivating cordial relations with all citizens
10 Fraternity – Promoting a sense of brotherhood within the country
11 Organization – Strengthening the unity and integrity of the nation
12 Welfare – Active participation in country and society’s welfare activities
13 Prosperity – Actively contributing to the country’s development
14 Industry – Assisting the country in its industrial progress
15 Safety – Willingness to protect the country at all times
16 Awareness – Being mindful of the truth and avoiding belief in rumors
17 Equality – Endeavoring to establish a society based on equality
18 Artha – Optimum utilization of money for the greater good
19 Policy – Having faith in the country’s policies
20 Justice – Advocating for justice and fairness for all
21 Co-operation – Encouraging teamwork and collaboration
22 Duties – Honest and dutiful adherence to responsibilities
23 Rights – Responsible exercise of one’s rights without abuse
24 Wisdom – Pursuit of knowledge and understanding through learning and education

Key takeaways for competitive examinations

  • The idea of the Ashoka Chakra was proposed by: B.R Ambedkar


How Many Spokes are there in Ashoka Chakra?_4.1