Home   »   Sports Current Affairs 2024   »   Sultan of Johor Cup 2022

India defeats Australia to win third Sultan of Johor Cup

India defeats Australia to win third Sultan of Johor Cup_4.1

Sultan of Johor Cup 2022:

Indian junior men’s hockey team defeated Australia to win the Sultan of Johor Cup 2022 in a shootout 5-4 after a 1-1 draw at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. This is the third time India has won the Sultan of Johor Cup. India scored the first goal with Sudeep Chirmako’s field goal in the 14th minute. However, Australia came back in the second quarter as Jack Holland equalised with India.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

In the shootout, both teams ended with 3-3 scoreline, forcing the match into sudden death. Uttam Singh scored twice in the shootout, including in sudden death, while Vishnukant Singh, Ankit Pal, Sudeep Chirmako also sounded the board for India. For Australia, Burns Cooper, Foster Brodee, Brooks Joshua and Hart Liam entered their names on the scoresheet.

Notably: The Indians have won the age group tournament twice in 2013 and 2014 and finished second best four times in 2012, 2015, 2018 and the last edition of the event in 2019. The tournament was not held in 2020 and 2021 because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Find More Sports News Here

India defeats Australia to win third Sultan of Johor Cup_5.1

BCCI Decides To End Discrimination; Offer Equal Pay To Men & Women Cricketers_80.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *