Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   Indian-American physician honoured with young urologist...

Indian-American physician Dr. Nitya Abraham honoured with young urologist of the year award

Indian-American physician honoured with young urologist of the year award_4.1

An Indian-American physician and professor Dr. Nitya Abraham has been honoured with the Young Urologist of the Year Award conferred by the American Urological Association (AUA). Dr. Abraham is an Associate Professor at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Program Director for the Montefiore Urology residency programme. She is among the honorees of the 2023 Young Urologist of the Year Award. Abraham is among members selected by their colleagues who serve on the Young Urologists Committee and endorsed by their respective Section/Society to receive the special honour for 2023.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

Abraham has been chosen from the New York region for her accomplishments and contributions. Abraham has mentored countless students, residents, fellows and junior faculty both at her institution and others in the New York region. She serves as the Chair of the Executive Curriculum Committee for Albert Einstein College of Medicine. She is a member of the Society for Urodynamics, Female Pelvic Medicine, and Urogenital Reconstruction (SUFU) Young Urologists Committee and social media committee. Abraham has received funding from the US Department of Defense for urinary diagnostic markers of interstitial cystitis, and is also a co-author of the AUA White Paper on Rationale and Strategies for Reducing Urologic Post-Operative Opioid Prescribing.

The awards committee described her as a prolific researcher with a clinical research focus on the impact of social determinants of health on pelvic floor health.

Other honourees:

The other honourees are Rena Malik, MD from the Mid-Atlantic Section at the University of Maryland; Jesse D. Sammon, DO from New England Section at Maine Medical Partners Urology; Sarah Vij, MD from North Central Section at Cleveland Clinic and Alexander J. Ernest from MD, Society of Government Service Urologists at Brooke Army Medical Center. It also includes Kerri Thurmon, MD from the South Central Section at the Denver Health and the University of Colorado School of Medicine; Zachary Klaassen, MD from the Southeastern Section at the Medical College of Georgia; and Yahir Santiago- Lastra, MD from the Western Section at the UC San Diego Health.

You may also read this:

Kerala Sangeetha Nataka Academy awards declared

Find More Awards News Here

Indian-American physician honoured with young urologist of the year award_5.1

International Day of Persons with Disabilities 2022: 3 December_90.1

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *