Home   »   State News   »   Karnataka announces free bus travel ‘Shakti’...

Karnataka announces free bus travel ‘Shakti’ scheme for women

The Karnataka government has advised the women to apply for Shakti smart cards to avail the free travel in state run buses, starting from June 11. The government has already issued a set of guidelines on the ‘Shakti’ scheme, which is one of the major poll promises by the Congress party in Karnataka. According to the transport department of Karnataka, women can apply for Shakti smart cards through sevasindhu.karnataka.gov.in from June 11.

What all buses are excluded?

The Shakti scheme applies only on the ordinary state run bus services of Karnataka. Airavat, Airavat Club Class, Airavat Gold Class, Ambari, Ambari Dream Class, Ambari Utsav, Fly Bus, Vayu Vajra, Vajra, Non-AC Sleeper, Rajahamsa and EV Power Plus AC buses are excluded in this scheme. The scheme doesn’t also apply to those buses which travel outside the state. 50 per cent seats on KSRTC, NWKRTC and KKRTC’s ordinary and express buses will be reserved for men.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

The Shakti scheme is one of the five guarantees that the Congress party made in its election manifesto. The other four guarantees are:

  • 30% reservation for women in all government jobs
  • Free education for all children from class 1 to 12
  • Free healthcare for all
  • Rs 2,500 per month pension for all women above the age of 60.

KFON internet connectivity scheme launched by Kerala govt_110.1