Home   »   Awards and Honours   »   List of Dada Saheb Phalke Award...

List of Dada Saheb Phalke Award Winners (1969 -2023)

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award stands as the pinnacle of recognition in the Indian film industry, honoring individuals for their exceptional contributions to the growth and development of Indian cinema. Instituted in 1969 by the Government of India, the award commemorates the legendary Dadasaheb Phalke, often hailed as the “father of Indian cinema.” Dahasaehb Phalke’s groundbreaking work includes directing India’s inaugural full-length feature film, “Raja Harishchandra” in 1913.

Inception and First Recipient

The inaugural presentation of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award took place in 1969, with actress Devika Rani being the first recipient. Devika Rani, renowned for her contributions to Indian cinema, was honored at the 17th National Film Awards, setting a tradition of recognizing outstanding achievers in the film fraternity.

Significance and Recognition

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is presented annually at the National Film Awards ceremony, organized by the Directorate of Film Festivals, a body operating under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. This prestigious accolade comprises a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a shawl and a cash prize of Rs.1,000,000 (US$13,000). Recipients are selected through a meticulous process overseen by a committee composed of eminent personalities from the Indian film industry.

List of Dada Saheb Phalke Award Winners (1969-2023)

The first recipient of Dada Saheb Phalke award was actress Devika Rani who was honored at the 17th National Film Awards. Here is the complete list of Dada Saheb Phalke Award winners since its inception in 1969 to 2023:

Ceremonial Year Recipient Film Industry
1969 (17th) Devika Rani Hindi
1970 (18th) Birendranath Sircar Bengali
1971 (19th) Prithviraj Kapoor Hindi
1972 (20th) Pankaj Mullick Bengali & Hindi
1973 (21st) Ruby Myers (Sulochana) Hindi
1974 (22nd) Boomireddy Narasimha Reddy Telugu
1975 (23rd) Dhirendra Nath Ganguly Bengali
1976 (24th) Kanan Devi Bengali
1977 (25th) Nitin Bose Bengali, Hindi
1978 (26th) Raichand Boral Bengali, Hindi
1979 (27th) Sohab Modi Hindi
1980 (28th) Paidi Jairaj Hindi, Telugu
1981 (29th) Naushad Hindi
1982 (30th) L.V. Prasad Hindi, Tamil, Telugu
1983 (31st) Durga Khote Hindi, Marathi
1984 (32nd) Satyajit Ray Bengali
1985 (33rd) V. Shantaram Hindi, Marathi
1986 (34th) B. Nagi Reddy Telugu
1987 (35th) Raj Kapoor Hindi
1988 (36th) Ashok Kumar Hindi
1989 (37th) Lata Mangeshkar Hindi, Maratha
1990 (38th) Akkineni Nageswara Rao Telugu
1991 (39th) Bhalji Pendharkar Marathi
1992 (40th) Bhupen Hazarika Assamese
1993 (41st) Majrooh Sultanpuri Hindi
1994 (42nd) Dilip Kumar Hindi
1995 (43rd) Rajkumar Kannada
1996 (44th) Sivaji Ganesan Tamil
1997 (45th) Kavi Pradeep Hindi
1998 (46th) B.R. Chopra Hindi
1999 (47th) Hrishikesh Mukherjee Hindi
2000 (48th) Asha Bhosle Hindi, Marathi
2001 (49th) Yash Chopra Hindi
2002 (50th) Dev Anand Hindi
2003 (51st) Mrinal Sen Bengali
2004 (52nd) Adoor Gopalkrishnan Malayalam
2005 (53rd) Shyam Benegal Hindi
2006 (54th) Tapan Sinha Bengali, Hindi
2007 (55th) Manna Dey Bengali, Hindi
2008 (56th) V.K. Murthy Hindi
2009 (57th) D. Ramanaidu Telugu
2010 (58th) K. Balachander Tamil, Telugu
2011 (59th) Soumitra Chatterjee Bengali
2012 (60th) Pran Hindi
2013 (61st) Gulzar Hindi
2014 (62nd) Shashi Kapoor Hindi
2015 (63rd) Manoj Kapoor Hindi
2016 (64th) Kasinathuni Viswanath Telugu
2017 (65th) Vinod Khanna Hindi
2018 (66th) Amitabh Bachchan Hindi
2019 (67th) Rajnikanth Tamil
2020 (68th) Asha Parekh Hindi
2021 (69th) Rajnikanth Tamil
2022 (70th) Asha Parekh Hindi
2023 (71st) Rekha Hindi

 Find More Awards News Here

List of Dada Saheb Phalke Award Winners (1969 -2023)_4.1

Olympian M. Sreeshankar Clinches 35th Jimmy George Foundation Award_70.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.