Home   »   General Studies   »   Former Governors of Mizoram

List of Former Governors of Mizoram (1987-2024)

Mizoram, a picturesque state nestled in the northeastern part of India, has witnessed a succession of Governors who have played integral roles in the region’s governance and development. As the highest constitutional authority in the state, the Governor serves as the representative of the President of India and plays a crucial role in overseeing the functioning of the state government. Let’s delve into the list of former Governors who have left their mark on Mizoram.

Governors of Mizoram

The Governor, serving as the highest constitutional authority in the state, acts as the head of Mizoram and represents the central government within its borders. In accordance with the Indian Constitution, the Governor holds the esteemed position of being the foremost citizen of the state. Presently, Kambhampati Hari Babu fulfills this crucial role in Mizoram. Their primary responsibility lies in facilitating the efficient operation of state administration and serving as a vital bridge between Mizoram and the union government.

First Governor of Mizoram

Debabrata Legacy Karmoshri Hiteshwar Saikia - Debabrata Saikia

Hiteswar Saikia assumed office as the inaugural Governor of Mizoram from February 20, 1987, to April 30, 1989. His tenure marked the early stages of statehood, overseeing Mizoram’s transition as an independent entity within the Indian Union. Saikia’s leadership laid the groundwork for subsequent administrations, shaping the state’s governance and development trajectory.

Current Governor of Mizoram

Dr. Hari Babu Kambhampati (@DrHariBabuK) / X

Kambhampati Hari Babu, an Indian political figure, currently serves as the Governor of Mizoram. He made history by becoming the first individual from Andhra Pradesh and the initial Telugu representative to hold this position in Mizoram. With prior experience as a Member of Parliament and State Unit President of the BJP in Andhra Pradesh, Babu brings a wealth of political acumen to his role in Mizoram.

List of Former Governors of Mizoram

The Governor, serving as the highest constitutional authority in the state, acts as the head of Mizoram and represents the central government within its borders.

Here is the complete list of former Governors of Mizoram:

List of Former Governors of Mizoram
S. No. Name From To
1. Hiteswar Saikia 20 Feb 1987 30 Apr 1989
2. General K. V. Krishna Rao 01 May 1989 20 Jul 1989
3. Capt W. A. Sangma 21 Jul 1989 07 Feb 1990
4. Swaraj Kaushal 08 Feb 1990 09 Feb 1993
5. P. R. Kyndiah 10 Feb 1993 28 Jan 1998
6. Dr. Arun Prasad Mukherjee 29 Jan 1998 02 May 1998
7. A. Padmanabhan 02 May 1998 30 Nov 2000
8. Ved Marwah 01 Dec 2000 17 May 2001
9. Amolak Rattan Kohli 18 May 2001 24 Jun 2006
10. Lt. Gen. M. M. Lakhera 25 Jun 2006 02 Sep 2011
11. Vakkom Purushottam 02 Sep 2011 06 Jul 2014
12. Kamla Beniwal 06 Jul 2014 06 Aug 2014
13. Vinod Kumar Duggal 08 Aug 2014 15 Sep 2014
14. K. K. Paul 16 Sep 2014 08 Jan 2015
15. Aziz Qureshi 09 Jan 2015 28 Mar 2015
16. Keshari Nath Tripathi 04 Apr 2015 25 May 2015
17. Lt. General Nirbhay Sharma 26 May 2015 28 May 2018
18. Kummanam Rajasekharan 29 May 2018 08 Mar 2019
19. Jagdish Mukhi 09 Mar 2019 25 Oct 2019
20. P. S. Sreedharan Pillai 25 Oct 2019 06 Jul 2021
21. Kambhampati Hari Babu 07 Jul 2021 Incumbent

List of Cricket Stadiums in Andhra Pradesh_70.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.