Lockdown extended for further period of two weeks from 4th May 2020

Under Disaster Management Act, 2005, Ministry of Home Affairs issued an order to further extend the lockdown for a period of two weeks beyond 4 May 2020. The lockdown will thus now remain effective till May 17.

Ministry of Home Affairs also issued new guidelines to regulate different activities in this period, based on the risk profiling of the districts of the country into Red (hotspot), Green and Orange Zones.

What is Green, Red, and Orange Zone according to MHA guidelines?

  • The Green-Zones will be districts with either zero confirmed cases till date; or, no confirmed case in the last 21 days.
  • The classification of districts as Red Zones will take into account the total number of active cases, doubling rate of confirmed cases, the extent of testing and surveillance feedback from the districts.
  • Those districts, which are neither defined as Red nor Green, shall be classified as Orange zones.
  • The classification of districts into Red, Green and Orange Zones will be shared by MoHFW with the States and Union Territories (UTs) on a weekly basis, or earlier, as required.
  • While States and UTs can include additional districts as Red and Orange Zones, they may not lower the classification of a district included by MoHFW in the list of Red or Orange Zones.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Union Minister of Home Affairs: Amit Shah.

Find More National News Here


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *