Luis Abinader becomes new President of Dominican Republic

Luis Rodolfo Abinader Corona has been sworn in as the 54th President of Dominican Republic. He succeeds Danilo Medina of Liberation Party. Abinader’s Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM) won the elections with 53% vote, while Gonzalo Castillo who was the candidate of the ruling PLD got 37.7%.

Boost your Banking Awareness Knowledge with Adda247 Live Batch: TARGET GA BATCH | Banking Awareness Batch for SBI, RRB, RBI and IBPS Exams

The 53-year old Luis Rodolfo Abinader was elected to the four-year term on July 5, which ended the 16-year run in power by the Center-Left Dominican Liberation Party (PLD). He had finished second in the 2016 presidential election.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Dominican Republic Capital: Santo Domingo.
  • Dominican Republic Currency: Dominican Peso.

Find More International News