Home   »   General Studies   »   National Flag GK Quiz 2024

National Flag GK Quiz 2024, Questions and Answers

The Indian National Flag features a horizontal tricolor design with saffron (kesaria) at the top, white in the middle, and India green at the bottom, each occupying equal proportions. The flag’s width to length ratio is two to three. In the center of the white band lies a navy-blue wheel adorned with 24 evenly spaced spokes, symbolizing the Ashoka Chakra.

This iconic design was officially chosen by the Constituent Assembly of India on July 22, 1947, marking a significant moment in the nation’s history. In this article, we will go through some of the questions related to the National Flag of India in the form of National Flag GK Quiz 2024.

Facts Related to National Flag of India

Here are some facts related to the National Flag of India:

  • The Indian National Flag, adopted on July 22, 1947, features a horizontal tricolor of saffron, white, and India green in equal proportions.
  • Originally designed in 1921 by Pingali Venkayya, the flag incorporated red for Hindus, green for Muslims, and a spinning wheel symbolizing self-reliance.
  • Gandhi modified the flag in 1931, adding a white stripe to represent other religious communities and approving the current deep saffron color.
  • The three stripes symbolize courage and sacrifice, peace and truth, and faith and chivalry, respectively.
  • During World War II, Subhas Chandra Bose used the flag (without the spinning wheel) in territories captured by his Japanese-aided army.
  • Officially hoisted on July 22, 1947, the flag retained its stripes but replaced the spinning wheel with the Dharma Chakra, symbolizing the “Wheel of the Law.”
  • The Dharma Chakra, associated with Emperor Ashoka in the 3rd century BCE, was featured on pillars throughout the Mauryan empire during early attempts to unite India.
  • India’s National Flag continues to use the 1947 design, with special versions developed for registered ships in the country.

National Flag of India GK Quiz 2024, Questions and Answers

The Indian National Flag, the tricolor which was officially adopted on July 22, 1947, symbolizes courage, sacrifice, and peace. Let’s go through some of the questions related to the Indian National Flag in the form of National Flag of India GK Quiz 2024 to test your knowledge about the Indian National Flag:

Q1. What is the ratio of the width to the length of the National Flag of India?

(a) 2:3

(b) 3:5

(c) 1:2

(d) 2:5

S1. Ans. (a) 2:3

The ratio of our National Flag is 2:3 where the length of the flag is 1.5 times that of the width.


Q2. How many spokes are there in the Ashoka Chakra on the National Flag?

(a) 20

(b) 24

(c) 28

(d) 32

S2. Ans. (b) 24

Sol. The Ashoka Chakra which features in the middle of the tricolour, has twenty-four spokes. It was adopted on July 22, 1947.


Q3. What do the three colors of the National Flag represent?

(a) Unity, Peace, Progress

(b) Truth, Peace, Courage

(c) Love, Sacrifice, Honesty

(d) Faith, Valour, Wisdom

S3. Ans. (b) Truth, Peace, Courage

Sol. The three colors of Indian National Flag represent truth, peace, and courage.


Q4. Which fabric is used to make the National Flag?

(a) Cotton

(b) Jute

(c) Silk

(d) Khadi

S4. Ans. (d) Khadi

Sol. Before the amendment of the flag code in 2021, the flag was by law only to be made of khadi; a special type of hand-spun cloth or silk, made popular by Mahatma Gandhi. The manufacturing process and specifications for the flag are laid out by the Bureau of Indian Standards.


Q5. What is the significance of the navy blue color in the National Flag?

(a) Courage

(b) Peace

(c) Harmony

(d) Patriotism

S5. Ans. (a) Courage

Sol. In the centre of the white band is a navy-blue wheel which represents the chakra. courage of the country.


Q6.  In which year was the design of the National Flag adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India?

(a) 1945

(b) 1947

(c) 1950

(d) 1951

S6. Ans. (b)

Sol. The design of the National Flag was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on 22 July 1947.


Q7. Who was the designer of the National Flag of India?

(a) Mahatma Gandhi

(b) Jawaharlal Nehru

(c) Pingali Venkayya

(d) Rabindranath Tagore

S7. Ans. (c) Pingali Venkayya

Sol. The design of the flag of India that was first presented in 1921 to Mahatma Gandhi, leader of the All-India Congress, was created by Pingali (or Pinglay) Venkayya.


Q8. What does the green color in the National Flag represent?

(a) Faith

(b) Valor

(c) Fertility

(d) Peace

S8. Ans. (c) Fertility

Sol. The last band of Indian National Flag is green in colour which shows the fertility, growth and auspiciousness of the land.


Q9. On which side of the National Flag is the Ashoka Chakra placed?

(a) Left

(b) Right

(c) Center

(d) Top

S9. Ans. (c) Center

Sol. In the centre of the white band is a navy blue wheel which represents the chakra.


Q10. What is the significance of the 24 spokes in the Ashoka Chakra?

(a) 24 hours of the day

(b) 24 states in India

(c) 24 principles of Dharma

(d) 24 rivers of India

S10. Ans. (c) 24 Principles of Dharma

Sol. The 24 spokes represent the 24 principles of Dharma (righteousness).


Q11. Which committee was responsible for finalizing the design of the National Flag?

(a) Nehru Committee

(b) Patel Committee

(c) Constituent Assembly Flag Committee

(d) Gandhian Committee

S11. Ans. (c) Constituent Assembly Flag Committee

Sol. The design of the National flag for Independent India submitted by Mrs. Suriaya Badr-ud-Din Tyabi was finally approved and accepted by the Flag Committee on 17th July 1947. She was an artist of repute and her husband B.H.F.


Q12. Which national flag is similar to the flag of India?

(a) Italy

(b) Mexico

(c) Ivory Coast

(d) Republic of Ireland

S12. Ans. (d)

Sol. Interestingly, both the Indian and the Republic of Ireland national flags are tricolours and look-alikes. The white and green look the same while the saffron in the India flag is replaced by a slightly different orange in the Ireland one.


Q13. What is the official size of the Indian national flag?

(a) 750 x 500 mm

(b) 900 x 600 mm

(c) 1000 x 700 mm

(d) 1200 x 800 mm

S13. Ans. (b) 900 x 600 mm

Sol. The official size of the Indian national flag is 900 × 600 mm with a proper ratio of 2:3 (width to length).


Q14. Who designed Ashoka Chakra?

(a) Jawaharlal Nehru

(b) Mahatma Gandhi

(c) Pingali Venkayya

(d) Lala Hansraj

S14. Ans. (d) Lala Hansraj

Sol. Mahatma Gandhi commissioned Pingali Venkayya to design a flag on a red and green banner. Lala Hansraj had set the spinning wheel concept into motion. The ‘spinning wheel’ is termed as Ashoka Chakra as it appears on several decrees of Ashoka, the most notable among which is the Lion Capital of Ashoka.


Q15. What is the English name of Ashoka Chakra?

(a) Wheel of Justice

(b) Wheel of Duty

(c) Circle of Dharma

(d) Spinning Disc of Righteousness

S15. Ans. (b) Wheel of Duty

Sol. The Ashoka Chakra is the depiction of the “Dharmachakra” which is represented with 24 spokes. Ashok Chakra is also called the wheel of duty.

Most Expensive Fruit in the World 2024, List of Top-10_100.1

About the Author

My role as a content writer specializing in current affairs at Adda247 involves meticulously researching and crafting compelling articles aimed at guiding and informing candidates preparing for National and State Level Competitive Government Exams. With a dedication to educational excellence, I strive to keep our candidates abreast of the latest developments and trends in current affairs. By providing insightful and engaging content, I aim to ensure that aspiring candidates are well-prepared and informed for their examinations.